Skip to main content

Sociology Sources: New
Databases!

New Databases

Oxford Bibliographies Online, Sociology

Oxford University Press

Publisher statement: "A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research. Each entry is a selective guided tour through the key literature on a topic, receives multiple peer-reviews as well as Editorial Board approval, and is designed to facilitate a research experience with no dead ends.” …  "The site is updated regularly, with 50-75 articles added per year to each subject area."

 

SAGE research methods

SAGE publications

Links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

 

SocArXiv

Open archive of the social sciences. Dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, to improve  research. Directed by a steering committee of sociologists and members of the research library community.

 

Social Theory

Alexander Street Press, 2006- .

Publisher statement:  “Social Theory is a new undertaking to provide comprehensive coverage of major social thinkers together with seminal texts from lesser figures. For many writers, the project represents the first availability of a major scholarly edition of their collected works. Extensive licensing allows readers to see both the original works and translations, searchable together in a single online collection for the first time. … The works of many important thinkers in sociology have remained inaccessible until now.”  Offers documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization, featuring works by major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, EĢmile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Erving Goffman, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons. Also relevant for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, anthropology, religion, and literature.

More information  http://solomon.soth.alexanderstreet.com/soth.about.html

Research Help

Nancy Skipper
Sociology Librarian 
Olin Library, Room 106
(607) 255-5176

Ask a Librarian

For more service options:

Web Accessibility Assistance