Skip to main content

ENGL 1147.104: The Mystery in the Story: Biographical Sources

Biographical Sources

Dictionary of Literary Biography. Detroit: Gale, 1978- . Uris Ref PS 129 D55+; online via Library Catalog and Database Names
An ongoing set of volumes designed to provide biographic, bibliographic and critical material on major writers of America and Great Britain as well as some writers of Canada, France and Germany. Each volume is arranged alphabetically by the writers covered. There are numerous portraits and often there are appendices containing special information. A list of further reading concludes each volume. An index to all volumes appears at the end of each latest volume. Individual author essays are available online through the Literature Resource Center, minus illustrations, photographs, and other visual material that appears in the printed volumes.

 

Literature Resource Center
"The Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a complete literature reference database designed for the undergraduate student. LRC combines biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information to deliver a complete reference/resource package on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Centering on respected Gale sources, including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism, this data set is augmented with full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material illuminating an oeuvre or era. In partnership with Merriam-Webster, Inc., LRC offers the Encyclopedia of Literature including over 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements, and prizes. Partnering with Macmillan Library Reference, LRC offers The Scribner Writer Series, providing more than 1500 original biocritical essays on authors of all nationalities and time periods. And The Twayne Authors Series: Twayne's US Authors, Twayne's English Authors and Twayne's World Authors,providing literary criticism, history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres for approximately 200 authors.

 

Modern American Women Writers. Schowalter, Elaine, ed. New York: Scribner, 1991. Uris Ref PS 151 M68; also Olin Stacks PS151 M68+
Provides scholarly, biographical and critical articles on forty-one representative women writers who published in the United States since 1870. Articles also review important individual titles and place them in the context of each authors overall work. Each signed article includes a selected bibliography of critical and biographical studies.

 

Web Accessibility Assistance