Skip to main content

Society of Women Engineers: Top databases

This course guide is designed to help members of SWE become familiarized with library tools.

Top Databases

 Here is a list of top databases you will use in your research. See also our list of Databases by Discipline on the Engineering Library homepage at http://engineering.library.cornell.edu.

  Information Needs for Engineering Students

  • Scholarly articles
  • Technical articles
  • Conference papers
  • Books
  • Patents
  • Standards
Google Scholar is better than Google because it contains many articles. But display order is by citation, not by date. Be sure to consult the databases below.
 search scholarly articles and conference papers in Compendex and INSPEC simultaneously.
IEEE Xplore  is a full text database to all IEEE journals, transactiosn, and conferences.
AccessEngineering (Classic McGraw-Hill books, such as Perry's Chemical Engineering Handbook)
 2,000 technical e-books on many subjects. ASM Handbooks must be searched separately.
 12,000 standards by the American Society for Testing of Materials
   
Proquest Digital Dissertations contain abstracts to most North American theses.
Besides Google Patents there is Derwent, which includes value-added patent title descriptions and citation information to world and US patents from 1963 to date.
 Web of Science is well known for indexing high-impact journals and showing who has cited whom. Does not include conference papers. Journal citations reports ranks journals.

Subject Guide

Jill Powell's picture
Jill Powell
Contact:
103A Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
jhp1@cornell.edu
engrref@cornell.edu
607-255-8701
Subjects:Engineering