Skip to main content

S&TS/Soc 4531: Knowledge and Society: BACKGROUND
SOURCES

FINDING BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Use the following reference sources to find background information, definitions of terminology, and context. For other helpful titles, ask us for suggestions.

Sage Reference Online. New York: McGraw-Hill.
 
Cross-searchable selection of encyclopedia articles on on topics in the social sciences. Try searching "social media." Includes titles such as the Encyclopedia of Social Theory and the Encyclopedia of Gender and Society.
 
Gale Virtual Reference Library
 
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.  Includes the Encyclopedia of Sociology and the Encyclopedia of Religion

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy  (Olin Ref B51 .R68 1998)

          Online version of the Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography. Bibliographies. Frequently updated.

Access Science. New York: McGraw-Hill.

The best online encyclopedia for articles on all aspects of science, technology, and the environment.

 Oxford Reference Online. New York: Oxford University Press.

Over 100 cross-searchable reference titles from Oxford University Press, including science reference sources. Most entries are brief definitions and explanations of science terms. Includes the Science, Technology and Society Encyclopedia 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. Ed. Neil J. Smelser, Paul B. Baltes. 26 vols. New York: Elsevier, 2001.   (Olin Ref H41 .I58x 2001; online)

           This encyclopedia, available in print and electronic form, includes 3,842 signed articles, 90,000 bibliographic references and 150 biographical entries. The printed edition is 24 volumes plus 2 index volumes.

Kazdin, Alan E., ed. The Encyclopedia of Psychology. 8 vols. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2000. (Olin Ref BF 31 .E52x 2000)

            Regards itself as "unmatched in... scope, scholarship, and expertise." (Preface) Includes biographical entries.

Encyclopedia of Government and Politics. 2 vols. London: Routledge, 2004. (Olin Ref JA 61 .C66x 2004+)

            Wide-ranging encyclopedia includes an extensive introduction followed by sections on political theory, contemporary ideologies, contemporary political systems, political institutions, political forces and processes, contrasting forces in the nation-state, policy making and politics, international relations, and major issues in conemporary world politics.

Subject Guide

Tony Cosgrave's picture
Tony Cosgrave
Contact:
109 Uris Library

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY 14853

(607)255-7148
Website / Blog Page