Science Fiction Book Review Sources
The titles below specifically index reviews that appeared in science fiction and fantasy periodicals, which for the most part are excluded from general periodical and book review indexes.
Science fiction book review index, 1923-1973
Call Number: Olin Reference Z5917.S36 H17+Publication Date: Gale, 1975Covers book reviews published in science fiction and fantasy magazines. Coverage from 1970-73 also includes reviews in some general publications (e.g., Time, Saturday Review). Provides author and story title indexes, editor index, and a directory of magazines indexed. Earliest magazine issue covered is Weird Tales for March 1923.Science fiction book review index, 1974-1979 by
Call Number: Olin Reference Z5917.S36 H171+Publication Date: Gale, 1981A continuation of of the above. Also includes reviews from some general interest publications.Survey of modern fantasy literature by
Call Number: Library Annex PN44 .S94 (volume 1 missing)Publication Date: Salem Press, 19835 volumes. Provides individual essay-reviews of 500 titles, series, and collections written by some of the most respected writers of fantasy and horror. Also includes 19 topical essays, Chronology, and Annotated bibliography and a Bibliography of fantasy anthologies.Survey of science fiction literature : five hundred 2,000-word essay reviews of world-famous science fiction novels with 2,500 bibliographical references by
Call Number: Library Annex PN44 .S96Publication Date: Salem Press, 19795 volumes. Contains 513 essays on novels and short stories by 280 authors. Bibliographies after the essays cite published book reviews. Essays are written by ca. 130 different contributors.- Index to science fiction book reviews in Astounding/Analog 1949-1969, Fantasy and science fiction 1949-1969, Galaxy 1950-1969 byCall Number: Library Annex Z5917.S36 I384+Publication Date: Science Fiction Research Association, 1973Indexes reviews published in three prominent SF magazines of the 1950s-1960s.
Multidisciplinary Book Review Sources
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A component of Web of Science -- AHCI offers multidisciplinary journal coverage of the arts & humanities. It can also be searched by cited references to specific works that appear in article bibliographies. Coverage range is1975 - date. From the main Web of Science search screen, select More Settings, and uncheck all but the AHCI checkbox.
- ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library, formerly known as Periodical Abstracts, is a comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. It comprises two components: a core list of periodicals covering about 800 publications, and 15 subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules cover arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Full text of many articles is provided.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers these areas: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
- Periodicals Index OnlineIndex to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Previously known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).
See Also: Book Reviews: A Finding Guide
Film Review Indexes
- Film Review AnnualCall Number: Olin stacks (6th floor) PN 1995 F48Publication Date: 1981-2002Though no longer published, this annual reprinted the full text of reviews from a wide range of newspapers and magazines of full length films released in major markets in the U.S. Arranged by title of the film, entries include credits and playing time. Indexed by critics, cast, producers, and directors.
- Film Review IndexCall Number: Olin Reference PN 1995 F483Publication Date: Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1986Lists articles about specific films which have established themselves over the years as being of continuing interest to researchers and students. Coverage begins in 1882; however, the primary focus of this two-volume set begins in 1903. Vol. 1 covers the years from 1882-1949; Vol. 2, from 1950-1985
- Media Review DigestCall Number: Olin stacks (Level B) AI 3 M961+Publication Date: 1973-2006Formerly Multi Media Reviews Index (1970-1973), this is "an annual index to and digest of reviews, evaluations and descriptions of all forms of non-book media appearing in a great variety of periodicals and reviewing serves." Films, filmstrips, spoken word records and tapes and miscellaneous non-book items are included. Each entry provides a brief description, citations to reviews and a review rating.
- New York Times Film ReviewsCall Number: Library Annex PN 1995 N56++Publication Date: 1913-1982 (print)Originally published in 1970 as a six volume set, duplicating Times reviews for the years 1913-1968 with update volumes through 1982. Each volume is arranged in chronological order and gives full texts of reviews which appeared in the Times on a given date. Title access is available through indexes at the end of the volumes. Reviews are signed, though some with initials only. Numerous photographs. Available online in Proquest Historical Newspapers.
Also search these databases:
- Web of Science/Arts & Humanities Citation Index. (AHCI) 1975 - date.
- see annotation in left column.
- ProQuest Research Library. Ann Arbor: UMI, 1986- .
- See annotation in left column.
- Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI). 1770 - 1993.
- See annotation in left column.
- Readers’ Guide Retrospective
- Indexes film reviews in general interest periodicals alphabetically by title under the headings Moving Picture Plays--Criticism (earlier volumes) or Motion Picture Reviews. Covers the years 1890 through 1982.
- Rotten Tomatoes
- "With more than 100,000 titles and 360,000 review links in its ever-growing database, Rotten Tomatoes offers a fun and informative way to discover the critical reaction on movies from the nation's top print and online film critics, neatly summarized via the Tomatometer™."
See also: Film: A Guide to Resources
When Androids Invaded Cornell...
Philip K. Dick's Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, the basis for the film Blade Runner, was chosen for Cornell's 2010 New Student Reading Project. The "Android Lectures" delivered by Cornell faculty from a range of science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines may be viewed online. You may also view the virtual library exhibition of related materials from the Kroch Rare & Manuscript Collection that were displayed in support of the Project.