Art Websites
-
ARLIS Free Art Resources on the WebA list of free websites about art and artists provided by ARLIS, the Art Librarians Society of North America.
-
Art Daily"The first art newspaper on the net."
-
Art Resource"Art Resource is the world's largest fine art stock photo archive, licensing authorized images to all media."
-
ArtcylopediaAn Internet search engine and "guide to great art online".
-
ArtLex Art DictionaryIncludes definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art and visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, quotations and cross-references.
-
ArtSourceA selective list of sites useful for research in art or art history.
-
Google Image SearchSearches the web by keyword or by image for both copyrighted and non-copyrighted media.
-
Harvard University Library Visual Information AccessVIA includes catalog records for objects or images owned, held or licensed by Harvard. Access to the catalog is open to the general public: all catalog records and thumbnail images are available to everyone.
-
Institute of Museum and Library Services Digital CollectionsA portal that "contains descriptions of digital resources developed by IMLS grantees."
-
Mother of All Art & Art History LinksCreated by the University of Michigan's School of Art and Design, this page provides links to everything of use to those interested in the study of art, including research resources, online image collections, digital resources, and art museums.
-
UbuWeb"UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts."
Fernando Miranda
The sculptor Fernando Miranda in his studio, working on a sculpture. 1870, black and white photographic print, photographer unknown.
This photograph has no known copyrights and comes courtesy of the Smithsonian Institution's Archives of American Art via the Flickr Commons.
More Art Guides
Listed below are some other useful guides on the subjects of the arts and humanities made by the librarians at Cornell University.
Museum Resources
New York Times - Art & Design
This RSS feed provides the latest art and design headlines from the New York Times. Select the links to access the articles or click on "View RSS Feed" to learn how to subscribe.
Loading ...