Skip to main content

Art Resources: Find Images

Important print and digital art resources available through the Cornell University Libraries and other outside sources to help students, faculty, and others conduct art-related research.

Images & Copyright

Determining when it is and isn't ok to use an image without violating copyright laws can be tricky. Refer to the following links to help guide you in navigating the rules of copyright.

If you are unsure or need more guidance, you can always contact a librarian or the library's Citation Management Group for assistance.

Digital Images Sources at Cornell

Listed below are some of the most popular image databases offered through or in conjunction with Cornell University. Click here to see an extensive list of all the image databases available within and outside of the university library.

Artstor

Artstor is a searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data. The database provides high resolution images for instruction, study, and research in the arts and the humanities. It combines images from museums, exhibitions, artists' estates, scholarly collections, and other visual archives.

The database offers expanded image-sharing features (including presentation options), which Cornell community members may access or download for free.

Flickr Commons

Created by Flickr in conjunction with cultural heritage institutions throughout the world, the goals of the Flickr Commons are to show users "hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives, and secondly to show how your input and knowledge can help make these collections even richer."- Flickr.

Users are encouraged to participate in the Commons by helping to describe photographs through adding tags or leaving comments.

Bridgeman Education

Bridgeman Education is the online educational image resource of The Bridgeman Art Library, which has over 40 years' experience of licensing images to the education sector. Our database is an invaluable research, teaching and learning tool; a unique archive of digital images sourced from the world’s leading museums, galleries, contemporary artists and private collections.

 

Hokusai Katsushika, 1760-1849, Japanese, print, woodcut.

This image has no known copyright restrictions and is part of the Library of Congress photostream via the Flickr Commons.

Art Videos

To get help finding videos at Cornell University Libraries, click here.

To find art videos online, try the Arts & Music section of the Internet Archive. Select the "Browse by Subject / Keywords" option to search for online videos on specific topics.

Additional Image Sources