Skip to main content

HD 3370: Language Development (Fall 2016): Resources for Language Development Research

A Research Guide

Language Databases

Use these databases to locate resources on language-related articles.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

LLBA contains abstracts of the world’s literature in linguistics and language-related research, book abstracts, book review listings, and relevant dissertations.‪"‬ Related disciplines such as anthropology, education, ethnology, information science, medicine, and communications are covered. Also includes some reference to papers in published conference proceedings. Use this to: search specifically for linguistics articles

PsycInfo

Contains citations and summaries of the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Use this to: search for studies by methodology

Web of Science

Web of Science is an integrated platform of multidisciplinary databases (chiefly life and social sciences). Use this to: search for multidisciplinary articles that cite a known author or work in order to identify more recent articles on the same topic and to find highly cited studies

 

You may also want to try:

Linguistics Abstracts Online

Contains abstracts of scholarly articles appearing in linguistics journals from around the world. Also includes abstracts from articles in related fields.

Humanities International Index

Humanities International Index covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. . .

MLA Bibliography

The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively.

Science Databases

Use these databases for a scientific approach to linguistics topics. 

General Databases

Use these general databases for a multidisciplinary approach to finding articles.

 

Google Scholar
A good place to start for a broad search of the scholarly literature. Includes articles, books, theses, court opinions and many other document types across a broad range of disciplines.

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 4,650 academic multi-disciplinary serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.

JSTOR
Full-text of scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

ProQuest Research Library
Indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Web Accessibility Assistance