Skip to main content

U.S. Government Documents: Miscellaneous
Collections

Created by Fred Muratori

Miscellaneous Document Collections

CRS
Reports
Executive
Communications
Declassified
Documents
GAO
Reports
ERIC NTIS FBIS FOIA Removed
Documents

 


CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH SERVICE (CRS) REPORTS

Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports are produced at the request of Congress, but since they're not issued through the GPO we have very few in paper. Congressional Publications has been adding full text of CRS reports online in pdf form, and should be the source to begin with, but if the desired report isn't found there, try some of the other resources noted below, as well as Google or Worldcat.

Full-text online:

CoverageNetworked Resource
1916 - date ProQuest Congressional
Click on the "Advanced Search" tab; leave only the "CRS Reports" box checked. Coverage is intended to include reports back to 1916.
1990 - date Congressional Research Service Reports Hosted by UNT Libraries
Aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990 and gathered by the University of North Texas Libraries.
unknown Open CRS Collection
Operated by the Center for Democracy and Technology, the Open CRS site "links to more than a half-dozen collections of nearly 8,000 reports" and centrally indexes the reports according to an AP wire report 6/27/05 by Ted Bridis. The site provides key word indexing to reports in those collections and links to recent CRS reports by date or hot topic such as Iraq or Identity Theft. The site also offers RSS feeds. Again, not comprehensive, but extensive coverage.
late 1990's(?) - date U.S. House Rules Committee
Has pdfs for CRS reports related to the rules and procedures of Congress only.
varies CRS WWW Accessible Reports
A catch-all site containing links to miscellaneous sources for CRS reports. Scroll down beyond the yellow background. Note that not all the links are working, and that the site has not been updated since 2001.

REPORTS REQUIRED BY CONGRESS (EXECUTIVE COMMUNICATIONS)

"Every year Congress requires submission of thousands of reports prepared by Executive and Judicial Branch officials and agencies. Required by statute to be sent to the Speaker of the House...and/or the President of the Senate, in practice, these reports, referred to collectively as Executive Communications (ECs) are received by the Clerk of the House and the Secretary of the Senate, respectively. These officers assign sequential numbers to the ECs and publish a notice of transmittal in the Congressional Record. (CIS) They are more often cited by number (e.g., EC 5541) than by title.

Although some of these reports are published by the Government Printing Office, most are issued in limited numbers by the originating agency. CUL does not have the CIS fiche set for the full text of ECs, only the index (cited below).

Finding Aids:

Reports Required by Congress: CIS Guide to Executive Communications. 1994 - . OLIN REF +Z1223 A12 R42

 

Full-text online:

CoverageNetworked Resource
Some reports may be available online through U.S. agency Web sites. Try searching google.com or other Web search engine using specific terms and phrases, or report number (e.g., ECnnnn).


Print/Microform Locations

CoverageLibrary Location
CUL does not own the CIS microfiche set for ECs. Check the Library Catalog for specific titles. Also, occasionally ECs are issued with agency annual reports or may be included in appendices of Congressional hearings.

 


DECLASSIFIED DOCUMENTS

These are internal documents -- memoranda, cables, letters -- that were never intended for public consumption, and were originally classified as Secret, Confidential, or Top Secret. They emanate from agencies such as the CIA, the FBI, the White House, the State Dept. and others. Many are "de-classified" as the result of Freedom of Information requests from researchers.

Finding Aids:

 

The Declassified Documents Quarterly Catalog.

REF Z1223 A1153


The Declassified Documents Retrospective Collection.

REF Z1223 A1152 D29

Full-text online:

CoverageNetworked Resource
1945 - ? Declassified Documents Reference System
1945 - ? Digital National Security Archive
The National Security Archive is a non-profit research institute and library in Washington, D.C., which provides public access to declassified documents obtained through extensive use of the US Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The database contains primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945.
199? - The National Security Archive
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.

 

Print/Microform Locations

CoverageLibrary Location
1945 - ? microform; Declassified Documents Reference System; Lower Level, Microfiche 195
1945 - 197? microform; Declassified Documents Retrospective Collection Lower Level, Microfiche 195A

 


GENERAL ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICE (GAO) REPORTS

The General Accountability Office (formerly General Accounting Office) is the investigative arm of Congress. It examines the use of public funds, evaluatates federal programs, and provides various analyses and recommendations to the legislative branch through published reports.

Full-text online:

CoverageNetworked Resource
1995 - present General Accountability Office GAO Reports
2004 - present Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Note: "Search on the Basic or Advanced Search form. The Basic Search and the Advanced Search default will return metadata records linked to the full text. The Advanced Search pull-down option All Fields Including Full Text takes the user directly to the full text publications. The advantage of accessing the metadata record first is that the record provides bibliographic and content information that will help the user make sense of the full text. The GAO PDFs are not searchable, but can be identified and accessed through the associated metadata record." (L/N)

 

Print/Microform Locations

CoverageLibrary Location
1976 - 2000 microform; Report by the U.S. General Accounting Office. Lower Level, Microfiche 1057


*Notes:

GAO Reports indexed in the the GPO Monthly Catalog are also available in the Readex microfiche set. Some paper GAO reports are individually cataloged.


ERIC

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education, providing access to educational research. It indexes and abstracts both articles in journals and unpublished reports. The full-text for most of the reports is available in a microfiche set housed in Mann Library and arranged by numbers beginning with the prefix ED. Journal articles are not included in the microfiche set; they are designated by numbers beginning with the prefix EJ. Check the Library Catalog for holdings of the journal titles.

 

Finding Aids:

ERIC 1966 - date. Contains some full text of reports.

ERIC [Ovid interface] 1966 - date.


NTIS

The National Technical Information Service (NTIS), under the Dept. of Commerce, provides access to reports and studies resulting from government-sponsored research. Most originate with federal agencies, but others are contributed by state and local governments, universities, "think tanks," and other research institutions. Some research comes from foreign governments (e.g., Canada, Germany, Japan, the Netherlands). Many of these reports are on microfiche which had been housed at the Engineering Library, but now resides at the Library Annex. Patrons may be referred to Engineering Reference for assistance in paging the fiche from the Annex.

 

Finding Aids:

NTIS Database


FBIS Daily Reports

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is an Executive branch agency created to translate the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources around the world. It has existed since 1946 (as the Foreign Broadcast Intelligence Service). Most of its translations are available in microfilm and microfiche with some older issues in paper. Since July 1996 the text is on compact disk, with the latest two years available online via World News Connection.

Related to FBIS is the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS), which was established in 1957 as the centralized translation service for government offices, agencies and departments having need of current foreign language documentary materials. Though both FBIS and JPRS shared the same mission, they were not officially merged until 1996 with appearance of World News Connection. In print, the Transdex (under its various titles) indexed translations emanating from both agencies.

For the most part the information below applies to the Daily Report series. Both JPRS and FBIS issued innumerable sets of documents under other, more specific titles.

Finding Aids:

World News Connection. (officially indexes latest 2 years but goes back to 2002)
FBIS Publications. [CD-ROM] OLIN REF DISK D856 F28 (indexes 1996 - 2000)
Index to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports. [CD-ROM] OLIN REF DISK Z 7163 F712 (indexes 1976 - 1996)
Transdex Index. [microfiche] OLIN REF +Z 1223 Z9 C35 (indexes July 1974 - 1996)
Transdex. OLIN REF +Z 1223 Z9 C35 (indexes July 1970 - June 1974)
International Developments. OLIN REF +Z 6205 I613 (indexes July 1962 - June 1970)
Catalogue Cards in Book Form for United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations. OLIN REF +Z 1223 Z9 C35 (indexes 1957 - 1970)

 

Full-text online/on disk:

CoverageNetworked Resource
ca. 2002 - present World News Connection.
*July 1996 - Sept. 2000 FBIS Publications (disks in ETC)
1974 - 1996 FBIS Daily Reports 1974-1996

*Note: Full-text documents on CD-ROM began with January 1996, but we lack the disk for January - June.

Print/Microform Locations

Olin and Kroch Libraries own microfiche/microfilm and -- in some cases -- print copies of the full texts of FBIS/JPRS translations. These are dispersed throughout Olin and Kroch Libraries (with some even at the Library Annex) according to the geographical regions they represent. To locate them, note the Date, Region, and Page information that displays in both short and long citation formats. In many cases where both fiche and paper documents exist for a given date range, the documents are not necessarily duplicated. Note the document numbers that are given on the OPAC record for each format. Geographical regions are denoted by 3-letter codes (e.g., PRC, NES). Use the table below to interpret them.

The microfiche locations indicated below generally apply only to translations published from 1976 through 1996. To find earlier translations * search the Library Catalog for the title Daily Report [region name] (example: daily report asia & pacific).

 

CodeRegionCall numberCoverage
AAP Asia & Pacific Kroch Asia Microfiche 285 1978 - 1987
Library Annex (print) +DS U59 1971 - 1987
AFR Sub-Saharan Africa Microfiche 921 1987 - 1996
CEU Central Eurasia Microfiche 310, also
+DK 266A2 U58 (print)
1978 - 1992
EAS East Asia Kroch Asia Microfiche 285 1987 - 1996
EEU East(ern) Europe Microfiche 307 1978 - 1996
LAT Latin America Microfiche 308 1978 - 1996
MEA Middle East & Africa Microfiche 465 1980 - 1987
NES Near East Microfiche 920 1987 - 1996
PRC China Kroch Asia Microfiche 286 1971 - 1981
SAS South Asia Kroch Asia Microfiche 993 1980 - 1987
SOV Soviet Union Microfiche 310 1978 - 1996
USR Central Eurasia:
Balkan & Eurasian States
Microfiche 1158/1159, also:
+DK 1 F28 (print)
1991 - 1994
WEU Western Europe Microfiche 312 1978 - 1996


*Note:
One set of microfilm, Daily report, Foreign Radio Broadcasts. (OLIN FILM 298) gathers the texts of FBIS daily reports from 1947 - 1974 for most areas.


Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Documents

Most federal agencies have Freedom of Information offices that administer the provision of internal documents requested through the Freedom of Information Act. Generally there are links to FOIA Web sites from the respective agency home pages. Their contents vary, but among those that provide full text are:

  • Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)- Documents previously released to the public since November 1996 are contained in this database; goes back at least to 1945; full-text searchable;
  • Federal Bureau of Invesigation (FBI)- not searchable, but has linked subject index
  • National Security Agency (NSA)- contains text of some documents released through FOI; not searchable; has linked subject list
  • The Black Vault- Archives more than 400,000 documents procured through the Freedom of Information Act. Cold War era materials, FBI files, homeland security, Dept. of Defense documents, weapons systems, spy satellites, field manuals and more.
  • Archiv-It.org -- Created in partnership with Stanford University, this ia a "Collection of sites that deal with Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests and documents. This includes government sites that receive and distribute FOIA documents as well as non-profit organizations and government watchdogs that request large numbers of FOIA documents on specific topics like national security and civil rights."


Removed or Orphaned Documents

With the heightened sensitivity to national security concerns following 9/11, a number of documents that had been accessible via government web sites have been removed from those sites, particularly if they involved defense matters. Also, when government agencies are dissolved, their web sites -- often containing full-text documents -- disappear as well. Here are some sites that have attempted to archive some of this material:

The Memory Hole was hacked in 2009 and is no longer accessible in its original form, but some of the contents -- hard to find reports and declassified documents, most of a controversial nature -- have been archived at the Freedom of Information (FOIA) Web Archive (Stanford University, Social Sciences Resource Group).

CyberCemetery at: http://govinfo.library.unt.edu/ has archived documents from now defunct government agencies. It is the product of a partnership between the University of North Texas Libraries and the U.S. Government Printing Office.

About This Guide

This library guide has been updated and expanded from US Government Documents: Guide to Locations at Cornell (1995) by Susan Szasz Palmer and adapted for the web by Fred Muratori. Send comments and suggestions to Fred Muratori.

(Note: This guide was created for the specific, local needs of the Cornell community and is not intended as a generic finding aid.)

Web Accessibility Assistance