Skip to main content

U.S. Government Documents: Indexes
& Catalogs

Created by Fred Muratori

Indexes & Catalogs

Catalog of United States government publications. Washington, DC: U.S. Goverbment Printing Office.
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications provides an index to print and electronic publications created by Federal agencies. When available, links are provided to the full-text of these publications. Coverage is July 1976 - present, with older material being added. Records generally DO NOT include the Monthly Catalog entry numbers needed for Readex access.

GPO Monthly Catalog. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC.
Contains citations to U.S. federal government publications from 1976 to the present. Includes references to books, serials, maps, reports, and studies. When available, links are provided to the full-text of these publications. This is the FirstSearch version. Records DO NOT usually include the Monthly Catalog entry numbers needed for Readex access.

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications... Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O..
Olin Ref Z1223 A18  (print version); also Uris Disk Z1223 A18a (covers 1996-2000; has more complete information than the print version)
Paper edition covering 1941 - 2004. Has cumulative indexes for 1951/1960, 1961/1965, 1966/1970, 1941/1970 (Personal author name only), 1971/1976, 1976/1980, 1981/1985.

Catalogue of the Public Documents of the ... Congress and of all departments of the Government of the United States... Washington: G.P.O., 1896-1945. Olin Ref Z1223 A131+
Precursor to the Monthly Catalog. Covers 1893/1895 through 1939/1940.

Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893. Washington, Govt. print. off., 1905. 2 vols. Olin Ref Z1223 A13 1905

Tables of and Annotated Index to the Congressional Series of United States Public Documents. Washington: Government printing office, 1902. Olin Ref Z1223 A 1902
Covers 1817 - 1893. Contents: Preface.-Congressional series tables.-Congressional series index.-Appendixes: I. Table showing number of documents. II. List of title-pages and imprints. III. Reference tables: duration of sessions, etc.

Popular Names of U.S. Government Reports: a Catalog. Washington: G.P.O., 1984. 4th ed. Olin Ref Z1223 Z7 U58 1984+; older vols. in stacks.
A "key to popular names used in citing U.S. government reports" -- names that may not appear in the actual bibliographic title. Inclusion is not limited to GPO-published reports. If applicable, entries include Monthly Catalog and SuDoc numbers.

List of Classes of United States Government Publications...
The official listing of publications available for selection by depository libraries participating in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). The list is arranged by the Superintendent of Documents classification numbering system and is designed to group together publications by the same government author. Updated several times per year.

Many useful print indexes and verification tools for US government documents are located in Olin Reference at Z 1223. Also see sections on specific document types (e.g., hearings, serial set) for other indexes.