Skip to main content

U.S. Government Documents: Hearings

Created by Fred Muratori

Published Hearings

Congressional hearings contain transcripts of testimony given before committees, and may contain appended documents,reports, studies and other materials relevant to the subject of the hearing. These are for the most part cataloged individually as monographs in both Library catalogs.

Finding Aids:

ProQuest Congressional or the printed CIS US Congressional Committee Hearings Index (OLIN REFERENCE +Z1223 A2 C58).

Full-text online:

CoverageNetworked Resource
2000 - date; scattered titles from 1995-1999 connect via links in individual Library Catalog records;
text is supplied in PDF format via FDSys
1824 - present
ProQuest Congressional
current Congress only; selected transcripts Thomas

 

Print/Microform Locations:

CoverageHouse/SenateLibrary Location
1973 - present both print; check online catalog
both Lower Level, Readex microform; check GPO Monthly Catalog for number
pre-1973 both print; check online catalog
1839,1856,
1864 - 1952
House Lower Level, Microfiche 600; check online catalog *
1834,1845,1860,
1863 - 1952*
Senate Lower Level, Microfiche 601; check online catalog *
1956 - 2007 both Lower Level, Readex microform; check printed GPO Monthly Catalog (OLIN REFERENCE Z1223 A18) for number

 

Examples of Library catalog record for hearing in Microfiche 600/601 set and corresponding fiche. (Also see Locating a Hearing in the Readex Microcard/Microfiche of U.S. Government Documents.)

*NOTE:The Microfiche 600/601 set may be lacking some hearings for the 74th through 78th Congresses, or from 1935 - 1944. Check the Library Catalog for print versions of hearings from 1953-1955.

Hearings of the House Committee on Armed Services are cataloged together as a series from 1947 onward and shelved in URIS Library UA23.3 A3 H43. A few individual hearings not distributed in paper are on GPO microfiche (Microfiche 2095) or in the Readex fiche set.

Unpublished Hearings

Not all Congressional hearings are published by the GPO. Transcripts for unpublished hearings reside in the National Archives, and many from 1823 through 1976 were microfilmed by CIS.

 

Finding Aids:

CIS Index to Unpublished US House of Representatives Committee Hearings, 1833-1936. (OLIN REF +Z 1223 A2 C572)

CIS Index to Unpublished US House of Representatives Committee Hearings, 1937-1946. (OLIN REF +Z 1223 A2 C5722)

*CIS Index to Unpublished US House of Representatives Committee Hearings, 1947-1954. (OLIN REF +Z 1223 A2 C5723)

*CIS Index to Unpublished US House of Representatives Committee Hearings, 1955-1958. (OLIN REF +Z 1223 A2 C5725 1994)

CIS Index to Unpublished US House of Representatives Committee Hearings, 1959-1964. (OLIN REF +Z 1223 A2 C5726 1997)

CIS Index to Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings, 1823-1964. (OLIN REF +Z 1223 A2 C573)

CIS Index to Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings, 1964-1968. (OLIN REF +Z 1223 A2 C574)

CIS Index to Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings, 1969-1972. (OLIN REF +Z 1223 A2 C575 1995)
- includes supplementary index for 1913-1968.

CIS Index to Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings, 1973-1976. (OLIN REF +Z 1223 A2 C575 1998)

The hearings indexed in these volumes -- through 1972 -- are also indexed online in ProQuest Congressional.

*Notes:

The 1955-58 index also includes some pre-1955 hearings not available when the earlier index was published.


Full-text online:

CoverageHouse/SenateNetworked Resource
1833 - 1972 House ProQuest Congressional
1824 - 1984 Senate ProQuest Congressional

 

Print/Microform Locations:

CoverageHouse/SenateLibrary Location
1833 - 1936 House fiche; Lower level, Microfiche 884
1937 - 1946 House fiche; Lower level, Microfiche 1080
1947 - 1954 House fiche; Lower level, Microfiche 1161
1955 - 1958* House fiche; Lower level, Microfiche 1715
1959 - 1964 House fiche; Lower level, Microfiche 2141
1824 - 1964 Senate fiche; Lower level, Microfiche 771
1965 - 1968 Senate fiche; Lower level, Microfiche 771a
1969 - 1972* Senate fiche; Lower level, Microfiche 1714
1973 - 1976 Senate fiche; Lower level, Microfiche 2142


*Notes:

The 1955-58 House set also includes some pre-1955 hearings not available when the earlier set was published.

The 1969-72 Senate set includes supplementary hearings from 1913-1968 which were not included in earlier sets.

Web Accessibility Assistance