Skip to main content

Cornell University History: A Research Guide: Local &
Campus News

Click on the tabs to access each section.

Local & Campus Newspapers

Online indexing and full text: 1996 to date, available from the Cornell Chronicle home page. Use the search box at the upper right to find older articles.
Print Index: 1989/1990 - 1997/1998 [index to articles about Cornell; see Cornell ClipFile Index]
Microfilm access:  1969 - 2009: Olin Film 3126. Ceased print publication in May 2009.

 

Cornell ClipFile Index Database

Electronic Index: 1999 - 2002 in Olin  Electronic Text Center on the ETC4 computer. FileMaker database.
Notes: Cornell-related articles only from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times.
Before 1999, see the next entry, Cornell ClipFile Index.
 

Cornell ClipFile Index

Call Number: Olin Reference + LD 1357.5 .C815
Print Index: 1989/1990 - 1997/1998 [index to articles about Cornell; see notes for earlier years]
Notes: Cornell-related articles only from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times.
Before 1989, see the next entry, Cornell Clippings File.
 

Cornell Clippings File

Print Index: Circa 1940 to 1989: Newspaper clippings filed in folders by subject Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts Archives 13-8-3367
Online indexing: See Guide to the Cornell Clippings File, 1940-1989 for a list of subjects and years covered.

Notes: Cornell-related articles only from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times.

 


Note: Print publication frequency changed from daily, Monday through Friday, to Mon/Tuesday/Thursday: "The Sun publishes a print edition on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday during the academic year..." October 2, 2015 masthead.
Call Number: ++ LH1 .C805 (see https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/330140 for a list of the print issues available in Rare and Manuscripts and the Olin Stacks [print holdings are incomplete])
Print Index: 1880 - 1993, not complete [index to articles about Cornell; see Cornell ClipFile Index]
Electronic indexing: 1999 - 2002, [index to articles about Cornell] Cornell ClipFile on ETC4, Olin Electronic Text Center
 
Online indexing and full text:
The Sun and the Library are collaborating on a project to digitize the newspaper from 1880 through 2000
.
08/20/2006 to date: Access World News. Selected articles available back to 2000.
November 2015 to date: Use the Search box on Cornell Daily Sun home page
Microfilm access: Library Annex Film 1106 (1880-Oct. 1943, Oct. 1946-Nov. 9, 1959); Olin Film 1106 (Nov. 10, 1959 to date)
 

The Cornell Review
"Conservative, contrarian, anti-establishment."
Online searching and full text:
2009? to date: Use the Search box in the right-hand column of the home page.

 

Ithaca Journal

Previous titles: See titles listed below plus the Ithaca Journal-News (1919 - 1933)

Online indexing and full text:
08/09/1999 to date
Available in the Newspapers section of ProQuest.
Also see the Ithaca Journal & General Advertiser (1827 to 1847), the Ithaca Journal and Advertiser (1847 to 1866) and the parallel title, the Ithaca Daily Journal (1872 to 1913) in NYS Historic Newspapers. Check the title list in NYS Historic Newspapers for the available coverage of early Ithaca newspapers.

Print Index: 1989 - 1998[index to articles about Cornell only; see Cornell ClipFile Index]
Electronic Index: 1999 - 2002. See Cornell ClipFile Index Database, above.
Microfilm access:  1872 to date: Olin Film 882; 1848 to 1872: Film 6045 (Ithaca Journal and Advertiser)

 

Ithaca Journal Obituary Index (Ithaca NY)

Call Number: Olin Reference CT 100 .I89
Print Index: 1860 - 1876, 1900 - 1914, 1980 - 1999 obituaries only

 

Ithaca Times [online version is called Ithaca.com]
Other Titles: Ithaca New Times (1972 - 1978)
Print Index: 1989 - 1998 [index to articles about Cornell; see Cornell ClipFile Index]
Online indexing and full text: January 27, 2000 to date. Ithaca Times News Archive: Advanced Search
Microfilm access: Olin Film 4383 (1972 to date)

 

Ithaca Voice
Online indexing and full text: June 2014 to date. Searchable and browseable from the home page.

 

tinytowntimes: Tiny News for Ithacan-Americans
Online indexing and full text: 07/12/2009 to date. Searchable and browseable from the home page.

 

Tompkins Weekly
Online indexing and full text: Started June 2014. Online archive only explicitly covers February 2016 to date. Use the search box at upper right on the home page.