Skip to main content

HIST 1402: Global Islam: Articles &
Databases

Supplementary Guide for the Rare Book and Manuscript Collections Session

To find research articles, start with Articles, eBooks, and More (Summon)

 

Summon (Articles, Ebooks...) searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items). Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, Summon doesn't search all library resources. Use subject specific databases (listed below) for comprehensive or focused searching.

To find research articles, start with Articles, eBooks, and More (Summon)

 

Summon (Articles, Ebooks...) searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items). Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, Summon doesn't search all library resources. Use subject specific databases (listed below) for comprehensive or focused searching.

Next, try searching Subject Specific Databases

Next, try searching Subject Specific Databases

For More Subject Databases... Browse these lists

Click on Database Names and Browse by Subject for a list of many more library databases.

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

Look for Get it Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

Look for Get it Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.

Database Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide the full-text of the article, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Articles search).