Skip to main content

HIST 1402: Global Islam: Islamic Art
& Architecture

Supplementary Guide for the Rare Book and Manuscript Collections Session

Selected Digital Resources

*Cornell subscription. ARTstor is a database of over 1 million digital images for education and scholarship. Covers images of Middle Eastern art and architecture, decorative arts, such as calligraphy, the book arts, ceramics, glass, metalwork, and textiles, as well as photography and other forms. Students can download images for educational purposes (does not include posting on the open web).

 

 *Cornell subscription. Luna contains Cornell collections such as the A.D. White Architectural Photographs (also in ARTstor); Knight Visual Resources Collection (also in ARTstor); Beyond the Taj; Rare and Manuscript Collections; and the H.F. Johnson Museum.

 

 

Other digital collections:

Flickr Commons
Photos from various cultural institutions in the world including the Library of Congress. Flickr users can add tags and comments to add to the knowledge of the photographs. A special "no known copyright restrictions" is applied.

ArchNet Digital Library
ArchNet is an "international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilisations."

Amb. Richard B. Parker Photographs of Islamic Monuments 1965-1979 (Smithsonian Institution)
Contains 200 black and white prints, 481 black and white negatives, and two black and white contact sheets of Islamic monuments in Algeria, Cairo, Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, Morocco, and Spain. The Morocco series in the largest in the collection covering four cities. Photographs from Cairo span the years 1965-1968. All other photographs span the years 1970-1979.

Casselman Archive of Islamic and Mudejar Architecture in Spain
"This collection contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula. The images span over one thousand years of architectural history, from the seventh to the seventeenth century."

Saudi Aramco World Digital Archive
Contains more than 40,000 historic and current images of the Middle East and the Islamic world. Most of the images online are published and unpublished images from the bimonthly magazine Aramco World, from 1964 to 2000, and Saudi Aramco World, to current. Site requires registration.

A. D. White Architectural Photographs in Luna

 

Cairo Citadel. Interior of the Al-Nasir Muhammad ibn Qala'un (or Qalawun) Mosque
A. D. White Architectural Photographs, Cornell University Library
http://hdl.handle.net/1813.001/5tqm

A. D. White Architectural Photographs in Luna

 

Cairo Citadel. Interior of the Al-Nasir Muhammad ibn Qala'un (or Qalawun) Mosque
A. D. White Architectural Photographs, Cornell University Library
http://hdl.handle.net/1813.001/5tqm