Skip to main content

Language Dictionaries Online: A Guide: Scholarly
& Specialized

Limited to online full-text language dictionaries, primarily those the Cornell University Library has purchased outright or subscribes to. Click on the TABS to access each section of this guide.

Scholarly & Specialized Dictionaries

ARTFL Project: The ARTFL Reference Collection. University of Chicago. 
The Reference Collection of ARTFL [Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language] contains a rich set online historical and modern language dictionaries.
Highlights:
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. First Edition (1694)
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Fourth Edition (1762)
Jean-François Féraud's Dictionaire critique de la langue Française (1787)
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Fifth Edition (1798)
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Sixth Edition (1835)
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Eighth Edition (1932-35)

Le Trésor de la Langue Française (TLFi) Dictionary.
Dictionarium latinogallicum (1552).
Digital Dictionaries of South Asia.

BrillOnline dictionaries. Etymological dictionaries. And more.
A lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. Dictionaries can be cross-searched, with an advance search for each individual dictionary enabling the user to perform more complex research queries. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates and often extensive bibliographical information.
 
Database of Latin Dictionaries. Brepols. 
Click the "Enter databases" button and select this title from the Latin Dictionaries section. The purpose of The Database of Latin Dictionaries "is to produce for scholars and students an online database comprising a large number of Latin dictionaries. The database will continue to grow gradually and will comprise three kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words and historical Latin dictionaries." [from DLD database INFO]
 
Dictionary of Old English, Old English Corpus. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan, 1998. 
The Dictionary of Old English electronic corpus is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.... A catalogue of the texts included in our corpus is available in Angus Cameron's "A List of Old English Texts" in A Plan for the Dictionary of Old English, ed. R. Frank and A. Cameron (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1973), pp. 25-306. The full bibliographic information of each text is included with the text which is taken from the Healey-Venezky List of Texts. There are 3037 texts in the corpus. [from the Old English Corpus information page]
 
Le Grand Ricci Online. [Leiden]: Brill, [2013].
Database version of Le Grand Ricci, which was published in six volumes and 7,300 pages, in addition to a volume with appendices. It offers approximately 300,000 Chinese words and expressions from the early beginnings to the end of the 20th century. Over 2,000 characters deal with the oldest forms of writing, or the so-called oracle bone inscriptions. Le Grand Ricci incorporates a wide spectrum of lexical domains, ranging from literature and history to science, technology, medicine, law, philosophy, and religion.
 
Middle English Dictionary. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan, 1998-2001. 
The print MED, completed in 2001, has been described as "the greatest achievement in medieval scholarship in America." Its 15,000 pages offer a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citation slips, the largest collection of this kind available. This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary. [MED home page] The online Middle English Dictionary is part of the Middle English Compendium.
 
Mittelhochdeutsche Wörterbücher im Verbund. [Trier?]: Thomas Burch, Johannes Fournier, [1999?- .] (aka Mittelhochdeutsch Wörterbüch)
Contents: Mittelhochdeutsches Wörterbuch: mit Benutzung des Nachlasses von Georg Friedrich Benecke / ausgearbeitet von Wilhelm Müller -- Mittelhochdeutsches Handwürterbuch / von Matthias Lexer -- Nachträge zum Mittelhochdeutschen Taschenwörterbuch / unter Mithilfe von Wolfgang Bachofer und Rena Leppin; bearbeitet von Ulrich Pretzel -- Findebuch zum mittelhochdeutschen Wortschatz: mit einem rückläufigen Index / Kurt Gärtner
 
The Perseus Digital Library: [Reference] Tools and Information. Gregory Crane, editor-in-chief. Medford, MA: Tufts University.

A remarkable collection of Greek and Latin language dictionaries and tools enhanced with links to the original texts. Classics consists only a portion of resources available through the Perseus Digital Library.

Dictionary Entry Lookup.
Search the headwords of Greek and Latin dictionaries.

Other reference tools available in Perseus:

English Index.
Search all English text in the Perseus digital library.

English to Greek Word Search.
This allows you to search the English definitions in LSJ [Liddell, Scott, Jones. A Greek-English Lexicon.]

English to Latin Word Search.
This allows you to search the English definitions in Lewis and Short [Lewis, Charlton T., and Charles Short. A Latin Dictionary.]

Greek Morphological Analysis.
This tool analyses Greek words and tells you their possible morphological analyses and the dictionary entries from which they could be derived.

Greek Vocabulary Tool.
Generate vocabulary lists for Greek texts.

Greek Words in Context.
Find instances of one or more words appearing in Greek texts. Useful in searching for Greek idioms and phrases.

Latin Morphological Analysis.
This tool analyses Latin words and tells you their possible morphological analyses and the dictionary entries from which they could be derived.

Latin Vocabulary Tool.
Generate vocabulary lists for Latin texts.

Latin Words in Context.
Find instances of one or more words appearing in Latin texts. Useful in searching for Latin idioms and phrases.

Japanese Online Bilingual Dictionaries

1. Jim Breen's WWWJDIC Server: Japanese-English Online Dictionary (Monash University site).

This online dictionary includes a Japanese-English dictionary, translation of Japanese text, and a kanji dictionary. To use this dictionary you will need to be able to display Japanese kana and kanji on your computer. The site gives information on setting up Japanese fonts on your browser.

2. Sanseido Web Dictionary

This site allows you to do a simultaneous search of three dictionaries: a kokugo (Japanese language), ei-wa (English-Japanese), and a wa-ei (Japanese-English), all "Daily Concise" editions published by Sanseido. To use, you will need Japanese fonts on your computer.

3. Rikai

Rikai is a translation site for Japanese to English, English to Japanese, English to Spanish, and Chinese to English. It can be used to read Japanese kanji. It allows you to paste a URL or text into its translator and it will give you the reading and definition for the words once you move your mouse over them. To use, you will need Japanese fonts on your computer.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO

Web Accessibility Assistance