Skip to main content

Religion: A Research Guide: Journal
Articles

Click on the TABS to access each section in this guide.

Journal Articles

These resources can also be found by searching Databases.

ATLA Religion Database. 1949- .
"The combined online avatar of Religion Index One, Religion Index Two, and Index to Book Reviews in Religion, this is the most important general index for religious studies. The database covers articles, essays in collections, and book reviews in English, French, and German. Coverage extends from 1949 on; there is currently a project to expand retrospective coverage. While its scope is global and includes virtually all religious traditions, coverage is strongest for Christianity, particularly the Protestant versions. The database should be supplemented by Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, for Catholicism, and by Old Testament Abstracts and New Testament Abstracts for biblical studies." [Guide to Reference].
 
Bibliography of Asian Studies. 1971- .

The best database for finding articles on Asian religions: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zoroastrianism, and Shinto. "For 1971-91, the online BAS contains the full data of the printed version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies, which includes citations to Western language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften. Monographs published since 1992 are not included. Doctoral dissertations and master's theses are seldom included. Keyword searching is available and is generally the most powerful way to search BAS online. Entries can also be accessed by author, subject, country, and journal title. To assist searchers, the subject classification in the BAS is available online...." [Guide to Reference].

Indexing before 1971: The BAS began as an annual bibliography, the Bulletin of Far Eastern Bibliography (Kroch Asia Reference Z 3001 .B93), in 1936. In 1941, the scope extended to Southeast Asia, and in 1955, to South Asia. G.K. Hall published the Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1941-65 (Kroch Asia Reference Z 3001 .A833) and 1966-70 (Kroch Asia Reference Z 3001 .A833 1972), organized by subject, with author indexes.

Index Islamicus. 1906- .

"Produced by an editorial team based at the London School of Oriental and African Studies, this database covers European-language books, articles, conference proceedings, and reviews of works dealing with all facets of Islam and the Islamic world. Coverage begins with 1906; the database is updated quarterly." [Guide to Reference].

Indexing before 1906: Wolfgang Behn's Index Islamicus 1665-1905: A Bibliography of Articles on Islamic Subjects in Periodicals and Other Collective Publications (Olin Reference Z 7835 .M6 P35) "provides retrospective coverage back to 1665 that is not available through the online Index Islamicus. Behn lists over 21,000 articles from journals, conference proceedings, and collected works in a variety of European languages." [Guide to Reference].

RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies = Reshimat maamarim be-madae ha-Yahadut. 1966- .
"Also known by the acronym RAMBI, this database attempts to cover all important articles relevant to Judaic studies. Based on the collections of the Jewish National and University Library, it includes materials published around the world in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages since 1966. Search options include author, title, subject, and keyword. Searching in Hebrew or Latin characters only returns articles in those alphabets; it is necessary to search both ways for full retrieval. It is also possible to browse by author or subject.Includes the full contents of the print version of this work, Reshimat ma'amarim be-mada'e ha-Yahadut, which ceased publication in 2001." [Guide to Reference].
 
Religious and Theological Abstracts. 1958- .
"Indexes and abstracts about 340 journals from around the world, primarily Christian but also some Jewish titles and a small number of titles from other religious traditions. A full list of titles is available on the website. Coverage is coextensive with the print version, also called Religious and Theological Abstracts, extending back to 1958 (Olin Z 7753 .R38). Search options include author, title, scripture citation, and keyword. Updated quarterly." [Guide to Reference].

Web Accessibility Assistance