Hort 1160: Nature Writing (Spring 2011): Finding background information

It's often useful to get some background on your subject before you jump into searching for more specific articles on it. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and overview sites and sources can all help you with this. But where do you start for these?

A lot of people doing quick searches often find Wikipedia articles first. Depending on the article, these can be useful starting points. However don't stop there! Look at the references used.

Also check out other published sources such as other online or print encyclopedias in that subject area or other reference works.

EXERCISE: Do a search in Google   for a topic of your choice and pick one of the first few links that appear. Take 7-10 min. and answer the following questions for each and note the topic, resource you used, what you found and your answers in the comments:

• Authority:  Can you identify the author or creator?  What are the author's credentials (educational background, past writing, experience) in this area?        
• Currency:   Is the source current or out of date for your topic? Can you even find a date of publication or last update?
• Purpose: What is the purpose or motive for the publication/site? (e.g., educational, commercial, entertainment, promotional) Is it trying to sell you something?
• Bias:  would you say the information is fact, opinion, or propaganda? In other words, what's the bias?    Is the author's point of view objective and impartial? 
Accuracy of Details: Does the information appear to be valid and well-researched? Are sources listed in a bibliography or included in links to the documents themselves?  Are the sources themselves authoritative?

(Checklist adapted from UC Berkeley Library Guide "Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask")   

It's often useful to get some background on your subject before you jump into searching for more specific articles on it. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and overview sites and sources can all help you with this. But where do you start for these?

A lot of people doing quick searches often find Wikipedia articles first. Depending on the article, these can be useful starting points. However don't stop there! Look at the references used.

Also check out other published sources such as other online or print encyclopedias in that subject area or other reference works.

EXERCISE: Do a search in Google   for a topic of your choice and pick one of the first few links that appear. Take 7-10 min. and answer the following questions for each and note the topic, resource you used, what you found and your answers in the comments:

• Authority:  Can you identify the author or creator?  What are the author's credentials (educational background, past writing, experience) in this area?        
• Currency:   Is the source current or out of date for your topic? Can you even find a date of publication or last update?
• Purpose: What is the purpose or motive for the publication/site? (e.g., educational, commercial, entertainment, promotional) Is it trying to sell you something?
• Bias:  would you say the information is fact, opinion, or propaganda? In other words, what's the bias?    Is the author's point of view objective and impartial? 
Accuracy of Details: Does the information appear to be valid and well-researched? Are sources listed in a bibliography or included in links to the documents themselves?  Are the sources themselves authoritative?

(Checklist adapted from UC Berkeley Library Guide "Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask")   

The Cornell University Library Catalog is a database that contains records for materials held in 19 of the 20 of libraries that collectively comprise the Cornell University Library.  Use the box below for quick searching for a title, author, or keyword. 

To a basic search click on Catalog and change the dropdown box to Keyword.

For more advanced searching, click on Catalog and click on Advanced Search. Then use the Guided Keyword Search tab in the catalog.

To search the Library catalog from your browser wherever you are on the Internet, download the LibX toolbar from CUL Labs.

Books can also give you a good overview of your subject. First do a very general keyword search for your subject.

hibernation as Terms Anywhere

When you find anything useful look at the Long View and find the Subjects:

Hibernation as Subject

You'll find everything about that particular subject listed here and you can also re-search using the subject headings.

You can also use the Post Limit button to find books in certain date ranges or languages like English.

Books can also give you a good overview of your subject. First do a very general keyword search for your subject.

hibernation as Terms Anywhere

When you find anything useful look at the Long View and find the Subjects:

Hibernation as Subject

You'll find everything about that particular subject listed here and you can also re-search using the subject headings.

You can also use the Post Limit button to find books in certain date ranges or languages like English.