Skip to main content

ENGL 2045: Major Poets (Fall 2017): Video
& Audio

A library research guide for students in Prof. Culler's Major Poets course.

Audio & Video Poetry in Literature Online

Literature Online includes many video and audio recordings of poets reading their works and the works of other poets. Here's how to navigate to them:

1. Go to Literature Online

2. Click on the Texts tab, then on the Video and Audio link:

3. Click on either Poets on Screen or Poetry Archive Audio to see a listing of poets and poems.

Audio & Video Resources in Poetry

Columbia Granger’s world of poetry: the electronic Granger’s
Indexes poetry in published anthologies. Contains full text of anthologized poems in the public domain, poetry excerpts from copyrighted works, and citations providing poem title, author, publisher, subject(s), and a list of anthologies in which the selected poem appears. 15,000 authors are represented with references to 558 separate anthologies (1992 release). Also contains audio readings of canonical works, and allows side-by-side comparison of texts.
Literature Online.
A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. In addition to full texts of canonical works and secondary critical works, LION also includes audio (Poetry Archive Audio) and video (Poets On Screen) archives of poets reading their works and the works of others. Click on the Texts tab, then on the Video and Audio link in the Browse column. See the illustrations to the left of this box.
PennSound
PennSound is an ongoing project based at the University of Pennsylvania committed to producing new audio recordings and preserving existing audio archives. Launched January 1, 2005, it is a Web-based archive for noncommercial distribution of the largest collection of poetry sound files on the Internet. Most poets included are contemporary or modern.
Poets.org
Produced by the Academy of American poets, this site features recordings of poets, mostly contemporary and modern. Includes several recordings of W.H. Auden, Robert Frost, and A.R. Ammons reading their own work, as well as contemporary readings of poems by Dickinson, Hopkins, Keats, and Whitman.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, this database provides a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Contains recordings of the works of Frost, Dickinson, Whitman and others.
YouTube
There are many recordings of poetry on YouTube, some read by the poet, some by others, some with accompanying animations, graphics, etc. Enter a poet's name in the search box (e.g, "w h auden") to see what's there. .