Skip to main content

ENGL 2045: Major Poets (Fall 2017): Find

A library research guide for students in Prof. Culler's Major Poets course.

How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles

Evaluating the sources you find is a crucial step in the process of scholarly research. The questions you ask about books, periodical articles, or multimedia sources are similar whether you're looking at a citation to the item or have the item in hand.

Watch this video to learn how to identify scholarly journal articles.

Quick Quiz

What is the difference between a scholary and non-scholarly periodical?

Quick Quiz
Scholarly journals are only published quarterly.: 0 votes (0%)
The library only subscribes to scholarly publications.: 0 votes (0%)
Scholarly journals have boring covers.: 0 votes (0%)
Scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.: 0 votes (0%)
There is no real difference.: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0

Recommended Databases

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals, but if not, use the Get it! Cornell link or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

MLA Bibliography
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively back to 1926.

Humanities International Index
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities, with many links to full text.

Literature Online (LION)
A full-text collection of English-language poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Click on the Criticism & Reference link to search for journal articles.

Literature Resource Center
A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).

Proquest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database -great starting point for research on all topics.

Full-text of scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Web of Science
Provides access to the Science citation index expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), Social sciences citation index (SSCI), and Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). These ISI citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic.