Skip to main content

ENGL 2045: Major Poets (Fall 2017): Reference
Sources

A library research guide for students in Prof. Culler's Major Poets course.

Some Critical Research Tools

Abrams, M.H. A Glossary of Literary Terms. 11th ed. Boston : Wadsworth Cengage Learning, c2015. Olin Reference PN 41 A184 2015
"For clarity, concision and elegance Abrams has few peers and no superiors; plain spoken but not simplistic, his essays on critical methods are the best short treatments in the business." (Choice)
The New Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms. T.V.F. Brogan, editor. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 1994. Olin Reference PN 1021 .E56 1994
Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Roland Greene, editor in chief. Princeton: Princeton University Press, c2012. 4th ed. Print copies: Olin Reference PN1021 N39 2012+ c.2; also in Olin 501 (Graduate and Faculty Reading Room) PN 1021 N39 2012+;
A revised and updated version of the major reference work for poetry. Compiled by an entirely new team of editors, this first new edition in almost twenty years reflects recent changes in literary and cultural studies, providing up-to-date coverage and giving greater attention to the international aspects of poetry, all while preserving the best of the previous volumes. [publisher] 1993 edition available online in LION.
Oxford English Dictionary.
The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology. It embraces not only the standard language of literature and conversation, but also the main technical vocabulary, and a large measure of dialectical usage and slang. Second edition (1989) available in print at Olin Reference PE1625 M98 1989
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Includes "coverage of traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history, as well as updated and extended advice on recommended further reading and a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms. New to this fully revised edition are recommended entry-level web links."
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography. Paper edition (2005) in Olin Reference: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005 +.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism. (Also in print at Olin Reference CB9 N49 2005+
Oxford Companion to English Literature. Margaret Drabble, ed. 6th ed. Oxford: Clarendon, 2000. (also in print: Olin Reference PR l9 O94 2000)
Available online and in print. Provides brief articles on authors and literary works from all periods of English literature are arranged alphabetically in this comprehensive single volume handbook.Contains extensive cross-references. Appendices include a chronology of English literature, and lists of poets laureate and major literary award winners.

Poetry Explication Guides

Guide to American Poetry Explication. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, c1989. 2 vols. Olin Reference Z1231 P7 R94
 
Guide to British Poetry Explication, Nancy C. Martinez and Joseph G.R. Martinez. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1991-c1995. 4 vols. Olin Reference Z2014 P7 M39 1991
Poetry Explication: a Checklist of Interpretation Since 1925 of British and American Poems Past and Present, Joseph M. Kuntz, Nancy Conrad Martinez. Boston : G. K. Hall, c1980. 3d ed. Olin Reference Z2014 P7 A73 1980+

Olin Reference Collection

Olin Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

See the English Literature library guide for info on specific reference sources in this subject area.

How to Read Citations

Learning how to interpret citations you find in scholarly books and articles is a critical research skill and essential to efficiently finding the material you need for your assignments. Watch this video to learn how.

Emily Dickinson