Skip to main content

AEM 2420: Marketing (Spring 2015): Resources / Databases

Databases

What is a Database?   Quite simply, a database is a collection of materials, usually specific to a certain subject area.  Cornell subscribes to dozens of databases and has access to hundreds.  Databases offer access to reliable information that often times cannot be found elsewhere.

No two databases are the same.  If one does not work, be sure to try others.  An education database might be good for researching a topic in any of a variety of educational settings, while a psychology database will offer very different articles with a different slant on the same topic.

Here are some of the best databases for researching Sexual Violence:

These are some of the best library resources for your topic, but there are certainly more.  To find and access other databases not listed through this guide, watch this video here.

Using Google Wisely

This is the type of project that will require you to use library databases to find certain components but you will also need to use Google to find certain components.  

Think about how you might go about determining what other Universities have programs geared towards preventing sexual violence.  You could select a random university and try searching their website, but how do you know if their programs are notable or effective?  Is the author credible and unbiased?  

There are some major, significant benefits to searching in Google.  First, you don't have to worry too much about "search strategy" (or how you enter your search terms).  A search like "Active bystander approach to sexual violence" will yield plenty of results.  Another nice benefit to Google is that they are getting better about giving you solid results right from the start, particularly for high profile and important topics such as the one you are researching for this class.

In some cases, it does not give you exactly what you want, but there are ways to guide it towards getting you the best information.  

This video shows how to limit results to a certain domain.  These same exact strategies can be used to research sexual violence programs at Cornell (site:.cornell.edu), and other institutions or organizations (Bystander Approach site:.nomore.org)

There is an inherant "weighting" to the results in Google. The results at the top are usually there either because they match your search very well, or because they are some of the most used resources on that topic. That said, Google does factor in the amount of money they have received from the page creators into how high it appears on the list.  For that reason, a favorite strategy of mine, is to determine which programs are best by reading through articles in library databases, then find more details about those programs by taking advantage of Google.

This infographic here, gives many additional tips to searching Google effectively.

Web Accessibility Assistance