Skip to main content

Digital Humanities and Cornell University: Research Guide: Learn/read
about DH

Selected resources on digital humanities; links to support at Cornell University Library.

There are more books...

Are you interested in the discipline of digital humanities?  Or are you investigating using digital tools/techniques in your research or teaching?  Suggested key words/phrases: 

Computational Linguistics; Computational Humanities; Digital Humanities; Humanities Computing; Electronic Scholarship; Digitization; Digital Resources; Computational Text Analysis; Textual Analysis; Digital Media; Digital History; Textual Informatics; Hermeneutic Informatics; Text Encoding; Electronic Text; E-Humanities ;Multimedia; Hypertext; Cybertext; Computerization; Quantitative methods; Virtual Library; Digital Library; Literary Data Procesing; Digital Image Processing; Image-Based Computing; Critical Editing; Digital Collections.

Search databases to find articles

  • Academic Search Premier* includes full text for more than 4600 peer reviewed journals as well as images, 1975 - present
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index* contains multidisciplinary sources
  • British Humanities Index* contains abstracts from over 400 daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals
  • Dissertations &Theses* includes more than 2.4 million entries for dissertations and theses, more than 600,000 in a fultext format
  • Google Scholar* Google Scholar is freely searchable; use the GetIt@Cornell links for full-text (if available)
  • Humanities International Index* formerly American Humanities Index
  • IBZ Online* international index of periodical articles, emphasizing humanities; choose English or German interface
  • JSTOR* is an archive for academic journals. A typical coverage range of a journal is the beginning of the journal until 5 years ago
  • MLA International Bibliography* provides citations to research in literature,1926-present
  • Project Muse* offers full text of current issues of more than 475 journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. 
  • Proquest Research Library* (formerly Periodical Abstracts) indexes and abstracts general interest and scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Web Accessibility Assistance