Skip to main content

French Literature: A Guide to Resources: Periodical Indexes
& Databases

A guide to reference sources and databases available through the Cornell University Library

.

Article Databases & Indexes

French Literature Humanities Multidisciplinary


French Literature Indexes

Bulletin Signaletique. Section 523: Histoire et Sciences de la Litterature. Paris: Centre de Documentation Sciences Humaines, v 24 -. 1965-1994. Olin stacks AI 7 F815 (1969-90); Library Annex AI 7 F815+ (1991-94).
Supersedes in part Bulletin Signaletique Sections 19-24: Sciences Humaines and continues the volume numbering.

Bibliographie Annuelle de l'histoire de France du Cinquieme Siecle a... Paris, 1953-date. Annual. Olin Reference Z 2176 B58
Issued by Comite Francais des Sciences Historiques. Classified by broad subject area with specific subject index.

Bibliographie der franzosischen Literaturwissenshaft. Annual. Frankfurt am Main: Klostermann, 1956-date. Olin Reference Z 2171 K63
Arranged chronologically by historical period. In French & German. Edited by Otto Klapp. Partially available as an online database with content covering 1991-present, Klapp-Online.

French 17. Colorado State Univ., 1953 - present. Olin Reference Z 2172 M69+
Annual bibliography of 17th century French studies. Formerly Bibliography of French Seventeenth Century Studies originally published by the MLA.

French XX Bibliography. Critical and biographical references for the study of French Literature since 1885. Susquehanna Univ. Press, 1940 - present. Olin Reference Z 2171 B58
Annual listing of books, articles, and reviews concerning late-19th and 20th century literature.

 


Humanities Indexes & Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (in Web of Science).
International in scope, ISI citation databases are indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author affiliation. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. Coverage of arts & humanities journals extends back to 1975 and includes book, film, and performance reviews. (NOTE: From the initial Web of Science screen, choose Arts & Humanities.)

Bibliographie internationale de l’Humanisme et de la Renaissance. Genève, Librairie Droz. Uris Library Z7128.H7 B58 
Lists books & journal articles on the history, arts, humanities, & social sciences of the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe. Arrangement by broad subject area and country. Began in 1965.

Humanities International Index
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

MLA International Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1926 - .
An index to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. Search tip: Enter the author's name on one line and a word from the title on the next line. Set language or document-type limits, if desired. Note: MLA also provides links to full-text articles in JSTOR & Project Muse.

PERSEE - Portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales
Perséeis a program which was created for the digital publication of scientific journals in the field of the humanities. The entire printed collection of journals is digitized and published online through a portal which offers access to the collections as well as advanced functionalities which facilitate and enhance use of the portal's resources. Provides free full-text online versions of back issues of selected French journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Project MUSE: Baltimore, MD : Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .
Searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

revues.org
A portal providing access to online journals in the "human and social sciences". Most of the journals are in French, with new titles being added regularly. Journals in Revues.org typically cover the period 2000 to the present, with the balance of abstracts and full text articles varying according to journal. Overviews of each journal’s intent and content are provided.


Multidisciplinary Periodical Indexes & Databases

Academic Search Premier.
Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

CAIRN
Current issues of 200+ French scholarly journals, continually updated.

FRANCIS
A multilingual, multidisciplinary database indexing books and journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, and economics. Strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European literature.

JSTOR: the Scholarly Journal Archive.
A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals.

Periodicals Index Online. Online index to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Previously known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).

Proquest Research Library.
Indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The ProQuest Direct Web interface provides the full-text, in several formats, of many articles contained in the database.