Skip to main content

State Legislative Documents: A Finding Guide: Periodical
Databases

A guide to locating state legislative materials online and in print in Olin Library.

Databases

Selected Periodical Indexes and Abstracts


Access World News
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded.

America's Newspapers.
Contains complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Factiva. Dates of coverage vary.
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Great source for state governmental news.

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books. 1981- .
Citations to articles from over 600 legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Includes book reviews.

LexisNexis Academic
A web-based database providing access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts. Updated daily.

LexisNexis State Capital
In addition to legislative texts, State Capital includes articles from ca. 40 US state newspapers of record. Not all states are covered, and some are represented by more than one newspaper. From the main screen, click on the Issues link, and on the next screen click on the State Newspapers of Record link. A pulldown menu allows limiting searches to individual titles.

NewsBank [microform]. Olin Microfiche 2772; index with fiche,paper indexes shelved with fiche
Holdings: 1982,1984-1996,1997:Jan.-July. Issued in parts: Arts and literature, Business and economic development, Consumer affairs, Education, Employment, Environment, Government structure, Health, Housing and urban renewal, International affairs and defense, Law and legal systems, People, Political development, Science and technology, Social relations, Transportation, Welfare and social problems. Consists of reports from local newspapers concerning current events and issues. Accompanied by a printed index.

PAIS
Contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese. Covers many periodicals in these subjects not indexed elsewhere. Coverage extends from 1915 to the present.

Research Library [ProQuest]. 1986- .
Indexes and abstracts approximately 2000 general interest magazines and scholarly journals. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected television and radio programs. Many of the articles found by searching in this database are available in full text electronic formats. Pull down menus allow you to customize your searches by date range, type of resource (newspaper or magazine and journal articles), and by retrieval format (citation, full text, or PDF file which includes graphics). The Database Selection menu allows you to search different sections of the database, including a limit for Peer reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

.


First Illinois State House at Kaskaskia