Skip to main content

LING 3322/ROMS 3220: History of the Romance Languages (Fall 2010): Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

A guide to library research

Tips


Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Encyclopedias

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. (Olin Reference D 114 D55+)

The Catholic Encyclopedia and the New Catholic Encyclopedia (Olin Reference BX841 .N532 2003+)

Oxford Dictionary of the Saints

Crusade propaganda and ideology: model sermons for the preaching of the cross. [compiled by] Christoph T. Maier. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2000.

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DA 129 .M43x 1998)

Medieval France: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DC 33.2 .M48 1995)

Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DD126 .M43x 200+)

Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DP99 .M33x 2003+).

Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia.  (Olin Library Reference DG443 .M43x 2004)

Medieval Islamic civilization: an encyclopedia. (Olin Library Reference DS36.85 .M434 2006 +)

Medieval Jewish civilization: an encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DS124 .M386 2003 +)

Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia. (Olin Library Reference HQ1143 .W643 2004)

Medieval folklore : a guide to myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs.(Olin and Uris Reference GR35 .M43 2002)

Motif-index of folk literature (online).  Also known as Stith Thompson.  Very difficult to work with online.  Try the print volumes instead at Olin Reference GR67 .T47 1955+)

Arthurian myth and legend: an A-Z of people and places. Mike Dixon-Kennedy. (Olin Library DA152.5.A7 D59x 1995)

Cambridge Histories

Language Dictionaries

General

Gale virtual reference library Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.

Reference universe. Search the back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias in a wide variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions.

Language Dictionaries

Some dictionaries are also located in Olin Library Rooms 404 (Medieval Studies) and 301 (Languages).

Romanisches etymologisches Wörterbuch (in print at Olin Library Room 301 PC305 .M61 1935)

 

French

Dictionnaire du moyen français: la Renaissance (Olin Library Reference  PC2625 .G82)

Le grand atelier historique de la langue française: les grands dictionnaires de référence du Moyen âge au XIXe siècle. (CD Rom) Olin Library Disk PC2620 .G73x 2002)

Le grand dictionnaire historique, ou, le mélange curieux de l'histoire sacrée et profane, etc. (17th century; in ARTFL)

Dictionnaire historique de la langue française: contenant les mots français en usage et quelques autres délaissés ... (Olin Library Oversize PC3156 .L4+)

Tobler-Lommatzsch: altfranzösisches Wörterbuch. (CD ROM at Olin Library Reference Disk PC2893 .T63x 2002; print at Olin Library Room 404 + PC2893 .T62)

Lexique roman; ou, Dictionnaire de la langue des troubadours, comparée avec les autres langues de l’Europe latine, précédé de nouvelles recherches historiques et philologiques... (Olin Library Room 404 PC3289 .R27)

Provenzalisches Supplement-wörterbuch (Olin Library Room 404 PC2580 .W3 1948)

Dictionnaire de la langue du Moyen Age (Olin Library Reference  PC2889 .E56 2003)

Dictionnaire roman, walon, celtique et tudesque, pour servir à l'intelligence des anciennes loix & contrats des chartes, rescripts, titres, actes, diplomes & autres monuments, tant ecclésiastiques que civils & historiques, écrits en langue romance ou langue françoise ancienne.  (also in print at Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts  PC2889 .F8)

Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française, et de tous ses dialectes du IXe au XVe siècle...Frédéric Godefroy.  (Olin Library Reference & Room 301  Oversize PC2889 .G58+)

 

Spanish

Léxico hispánico primitivo (siglos VIII al XII) : versión primera del "Glosario del primitivo léxico iberorrománico"  (Olin Library  Oversize PC4715.Z5 L49 2003)

Tentative dictionary of medieval Spanish  (Olin Library  Oversize PC4715.Z5 K37x 2001+)

Diccionario del español medieval  (Olin Library  Oversize PC4715.Z5 M95+)

Diccionario sintáctico del español medieval: verbos de entendimiento y lengua  (Olin Library  PC1772 .G56x 1982)

 

 

Italian

 

Grande dizionario della lingua italiana. (Olin Library Reference Oversize PC1625 .B33+)

Dizionario della lingua italiana, nuovamente compilato dai Nicolò Tommaseo e Bernardo Bellini (Olin Library Reference Oversize PC1625 .T66 1861 ++)

Linguistics Encyclopedias

Selected titles

 

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. Keith Brown, editor-in-chief. 2nd ed. Boston: Elsevier, 2006.

Crystal, David. A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics. 5th ed. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2003.  (Olin Reference P 29 .C65 2003)


Crystal, David. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. 2nd ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997. (Olin Reference P 29 .C95 C2+)

Encyclopedia of Linguistics. Phillipp Strazny, editor. 2 vols. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005.  (Olin Reference P 29 .E483 2005)

Glossary of Linguistics. Eugene E. Loos (general editor). SIL International.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. 2nd ed. 4 volumes. William J. Frawley, editor. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.

The Linguistics Encyclopedia. Kirsten Malmkjær, editor. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2002. (Olin Reference P 29 .L52 2002)

Trask, R. L. (Robert Lawrence). A Dictionary of Phonetics and Phonology. New York: Routledge, 1996.  (Olin Reference P 216 .T73x 1996)
Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages. Roger D. Woodard, ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
(Olin Reference P 371 .C357 2004 +)

Campbell, George L. Compendium of the World's Languages. 2nd ed. 2 vols. New York: Routledge, 2000. (Olin Reference P 371 .C36x 2000)


Comrie, Bernard. The World's Major Languages. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. (Olin Reference P 371 .W6 2009)

Encyclopedia of the Languages of Europe. Glanville Price, editor. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1998. (Olin Reference P 380 .E53x 1998: also Uris Reference)

Virginia Cole

Virginia A. Cole, Ph.D.'s picture
Virginia A. Cole, Ph.D.
Contact:
vac11@cornell.edu
106 Olin Library
Website / Blog Page