Skip to main content

NTRES 4300: Environmental Policy Processes: Regulatory & Other
Resources

A library research guide for students in Natural Resources 4300.

Federal Regulations

Regulations.gov
Contains regulatory information from 300 agencies. On this site you can search for a regulation such as a proposed rule, final rule or Federal Register (FR) notice; read and submit a comments on a regulation or on another comment; or subscribe to RSS feeds by agency of newly posted FR notices.

Code of Federal Regulations. 1949- in print; 1996-2016 online. E-CFR (latest updates only)
A subject compilation in 50 titles of all regulations of U. S. administrative agencies currently in effect. Such regulations promulgated by agencies under authority granted by Congress have the force of law. The regulations which first appear in the Federal Register (Olin J 1 A2+), a daily publication, are codified in the CFR on an annual basis. The CFR is also available in Proquest CongressionalNOTE: the E-CFR is "not an official legal edition of the CFR."

Federal Register Web Site
Federal Register (via FDSYS)
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

RegulationRoom
Developed by Cornell eRulemaking Initiative (CeRI), a research group of Cornell University faculty and students from computing and information science, communications, law, and conflict resolution. Discussions on RegRoom are moderated by CeRI students and faculty or other nongovernmental researchers collaborating with CeRI. The federal agencies with whom CeRI works collaborate in the research in order to learn about the most effective Web 2.0 strategies for increasing public understanding and participation, but all content and operation are the sole responsibility of CeRI.

Additional Government Resources

Budget of the United States Government. 1922/23- . annual. (Online from FY96 onward; latest paper copy at Olin Reference HJ 2051 A59+)
Presents an overview of the President's budget proposals and includes explanations of spending programs in terms of national needs, agency missions, and basic programs, and an analysis of estimated receipts including a discussion of the President's tax program. The Appendix for each year includes similar, but more detailed, information for each government agency.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. 1965 -
The catalog is a government-wide compendium of federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the American public. One intent of the catalog is to improve coordination and communication between federal, state and local government. Cites enabling legislation and gives financial information.

FDsys Dates of coverage vary.
From this site users can connect to more than 25 text and data resources distributed by the Government Printing Office, such as Congressional Bills, Calendars, Directories, Records, GAO Reports, House and Senate Manuals, Supreme Court Decisions, Federal Register, and United States Code.

OpenSecrets.org
Created by the Center for Responsive Politics, its aim is tp provide "the most comprehensive resource for federal campaign contributions, lobbying data and analysis available anywhere." [web site]

Compilation of Presidential Documents (FDSys; 1993-date;)
Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents.  (Proquest; 1992 -three months ago) .
Contains transcripts of the President's news conferences, messages to Congress, public speeches and letters, proclamations, announcements, executive orders, and other statements. In print, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, covers 1965 - 2008. (in print at Olin J 80 A87+)

USASpending.gov
Created to comply with the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 (Transparency Act), this website provides easy access to Government contract, grant and other award data, including: 1. The name of the entity receiving the award; 2. The amount of the award; 3. Information on the award including transaction type, funding agency, etc; 4. The location of the entity receiving the award; 5. A unique identifier of the entity receiving the award.

Supreme Court Web Site.
Official site of the Supreme Court, containing the current Court docket, text of opinions, Court rules and other judicial information.

Dirksen Senate Office Bldg

Quick Links