Skip to main content

NTRES 4300: Environmental Policy Processes: Legislative
Information

A library research guide for students in Natural Resources 4300.

Federal Legislative Information


Quick Tips

Need: Then search:
Current or Recent Bills? ProQuest Congressional
Congress.gov
Govtrack
House/Senate Reports? ProQuest Congressional (1789 - present)
Congress.gov (1995/104th - present)
House & Senate Hearings? Library Catalog (search by hearing title to locate printed copies)
FDsys (selected hearings from 1985/99th onward)
ProQuest Congressional (18th/1824 - present)
Public Laws/Statutes-at-Large? ProQuest Congressional (1789 - present)
Congress.gov (1973/93rd - present; summaries only)
Legislative Histories? ProQuest Congressional (1969/91st - present)
CRS Reports? ProQuest Congressional (1916 - )

Congress.gov
Provides free access to a wide range of legislative information on the Congress, including the full text of the Congressional Record and bills for the 103rd to the present Congress, a directory of congressional committees and members of Congress, the weekly floor schedule for the House, and a schedule of daily committee hearings.

Govtrack
GovTrack.us, is a tool created by Civic Impulse, LLC. The site helps ordinary citizens find and track bills in the U.S. Congress and understand their representatives’ legislative record. Also has complete information back to 1973, statutes from 1951-1972 (bills enacted into law), and limited information on bills from 1799-1873. See the notes on Information Coverage and Timeliness on the site's About page.

ProQuest Congressional
Serves as both an index and a full text source of US Congressional materials: members and committees, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee prints, documents, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, US Code. Updated daily.

ProQuest Legislative Insight
Provides legislative histories for Public Laws including the full texts of publications leading to their enactment. Also accessible through ProQuest Congressional.


Congressional Record: Containing the Proceedings and Debates of the 43rd Congress to Date. 1873 - . Olin stacks + J 11 R4; current Index vol. in Reference
Taken from stenographic reports of the debates and proceedings of Congress, the Record is issued daily while Congress is in session, and in bound form at the end of the session. (The name has changed since 1873.) Recent years available in several online resources including: ProQuest Congressional, FDsys, and Congress.gov.

United States Code. . . Containing the General and Permanent Laws of the U. S. revised every six years. [2000 is latest complete print edition; plus supplements](Olin Reference KF 62 A2+)
A codification of all federal laws in effect, arranged by subject under 50 broad categories ("titles"). Kept up to date by annual supplements. Completely revised every six years. Recent years available in several online resources including: Congressional Publications, FindLaw, and GPO Access.

United States Statutes at Large. 1873 - . (Olin K U545+; Last 5 volumes in Ref;)
Contains public laws, reorganization plans, private laws, and concurrent resolutions and proclamations. Arrangement is chronological (within these categories) by date of passage of the act. Recent years available in several online resources including: Congressional Publications, GPO Access, and Congress.gov.

Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Names, Federal and State. 5th ed. Colorado Springs: Shepard's, 1999+. Olin Reference KF 80 S54+
"A compilation of popular names by which Federal and State acts and cases have been referred to or cited, together with an identification of each act in terms of its constitutional or statutory references and each case in terms of the volume and page references where the text of the decision may be found." Kept up to date by annual supplements.

U.S. Congress. House. Ways and Means Committee. Green Book. Background material and data on major programs within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means / Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives.Online from 1996 - 2004. Latest print volume in Olin Reference HC110.P63 B12. Earlier issues (back to 1981) in the Olin stacks.


RELATIONSHIPS OF GOVERNMENT ENTITIES TO THE KINDS OF LAW THEY CREATE, AND TO THE BOOKS IN WHICH THE LAW IS FOUND

Goverment Entity... creates... [kind of law] which is found in... [type of collection]

1. Legislature

Statutory Law Session laws (chronological by date of enactment)
Statutory codes (by subject, regardless of date

2. Agencies

Administrative Law Administrative registers (chronological by date of issuance)
Adminstrative codes (by subject, regardless of date)

3. Judiciary

Common Law Case reporters (chronological by date of decision)
Case digests (case summaries by subject, regardless of date)

 


Adapted from The Legal Research Manual (Olin Rerence KF240 W94 1988)


ORGANIZATIONAL CHART OF FEDERAL GOVERNMENT ENTITIES AND THEIR CORRESPONDING LEGAL RESEARCH SOURCES

 


U.S. CONSTITUTION
Congress
CHRONOLOGICAL TOPICAL
Statutes at Large
("Stat.")
United States Code
("U.S.C.")

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Independent Agencies
CHRONOLOGICAL TOPICAL
Federal Register
("Fed. Reg.")
Code of Federal Regulations
("C.F.R.")

 

President

 

Executive Agencies

 

CHRONOLOGICAL TOPICAL
Federal Register
("Fed. Reg.")
Code of Fed-
eral Regulations

("C.F.R.")

 

 
Federal Courts

U.S. Supreme Court

CHRONOLOGICAL TOPICAL
U.S. Reports
("U.S.")
Supreme Court
Digest
Supreme Court
Reporter ("S. Ct.")
Supreme Court
Digest, Lawyers' Edition
Supreme Court
Reports, Lawyer's Edition ("L. Ed.")
Federal Practice
Digest 3d,

Federal Practice
Digest 2d,,

Modern Federal Practice Digest

Federal Digest

Decennial Digests

U.S. Courts of Appeal
CHRONOLOGICAL TOPICAL
Federal Reporter,
Second Series ("F.2d")
Federal Practice
Digest, 3d
Federal Reporter
("F.")
Federal Practice
Digest, 2d
Federal Cases
("F. Cas.")
Modern Federal Practice Digest

Federal Digest

Decennial Digests

U.S. District Courts
CHRONOLOGICAL TOPICAL
Federal Supplement,
("F. Supp.")
Federal Practice
Digest, 3d
Federal Rules
Decisions ("F.R.D.")
Federal Practice
Digest, 2d
Federal Reporter
Second Series ("F. 2d")
Modern Federal Practice Digest
Federal Reporter
("F.")
Federal Digest
Federal Cases
("F. Cas.")
Decennial Digests

Adapted from The Legal Research Manual(Olin REF KF240 W94 1988)


Adapted from The Legal Research Manual, Olin Reference KF 240 W94 1988