Skip to main content

NTRES 4300: Environmental Policy Processes: Periodical
Databases

A library research guide for students in Natural Resources 4300.

Periodical Indexes & Databases

ALSO: See the Environment and Natural Resources category in the Databases section of the main Library web page.


Alt-PressWatch.
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Basic or advanced subject searching takes you to in-depth articles on contemporary society, including coverage of the peace movement, ecology and the environment, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and grassroots organizing. This coverage of diverse points of view and perspectives complements the reporting in the mainstream press.

Ebscohost
A cross-searchable collection of over fifty EBSCO databases covering a wide variety of subjects. The content is nearly all articles, but the EBSCO eBooks Collection is also included in the search.

Factiva
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs.

Left Index
Comprehensive guide to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.

Lexis-Nexis Academic. dates of coverage vary.
A Web-based database providing access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts. Updated daily.

PAIS.
PAISis an international index to periodical articles, books, and government documents about public policy issues: political, economic, and social conditions, public administration, and international affairs. Many entries include brief abstracts.

[ProQuest] Research Library
Research Library, formerly known as Periodical Abstracts, is a comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. It comprises two components: a core list of periodicals covering about 800 publications, and 15 subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules cover arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Full text of many articles is provided.


Quick Links

K Street

Cannon House Office Bldg.