Legal Manuals, Dictionaries, and Treatises
Black's Law Dictionary by Call Number: ILR Library KF156 .B62 2004ISBN: 0314151990Publication Date: 2004-07-28Building on the strength of previous editions, this edition includes an extensive appendix on legal abbreviations plus 17000 new definitions, explanation of more than 1000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms, and is enhanced with West Key Numbers for research reference.
The best way to start your legal research is to get background on your topic, and the best way to get background is to examine treatises, manuals, encyclopedias, and dictionaries that are fully cited with cases and statutes.
- Environmental & Safety Practice Center (Bloomberg Law)The Bloomberg Law Environmental & Safety Practice Center incorporates environment and safety news, laws and regulations, agency and guidance documents, environmental opinions and dockets, and books and treatises. Formerly the BNA Environment and Safety Library on the Web (ESLW).
- Labor & Employment Practice Center (Bloomberg Law)Formerly the Bloomberg BNA Labor & Employment Law Resource Center, the Bloomberg Law Labor & Employment Practice Center is a searchable database which provides access to various types of legal information about labor issues in the United States. Has sections called: Daily labor report, Disabilities law, Discrimination law, Individual employment rights, Labor arbitration & collective bargaining, Labor relations, Occupational safety, Wages, hours, and leave. Also includes: Affirmative action compliance manual for federal contractors, Affirmative action compliance newsletter, Americans with Disabilities Act manual, Americans with Disabilities Act manual. Newsletter, Collective bargaining negotiations and contracts, Collective bargaining bulletin, Construction labor report, Daily labor report, Employment discrimination report, Employment law practice tools, EEOC compliance manual, EEO compliance newsletter, Government employee relations report, International labor and employment laws (3rd ed.), Labor relations week, Workplace immigration report, Workplace law report, Verdicts and settlements.
- Lexis+ (Lexis Plus)ILR School only.
Full version of LexisNexis. Available only by creating username and password after training by Catherwood staff. Formerly Lexis Advance.
- Nexis UniAn interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Labor & Employment: The American Worker (HeinOnline)Brings together legislative histories on major legislation, briefs from Supreme Court cases, accounts of labor riots from the not-so-distant past, reports on working conditions of today, and more. Unique to this database is a chart of landmark court cases related to labor and employment law. Cases range from 1842 to 2018. In addition, HeinOnline editors have combed through their Law Journal Library to hand-pick 300 scholarly articles on employment protections, labor contracts, labor-management relations, collective bargaining, and related topics.
- Robert's Dictionary of Industrial Relations byCall Number: ILR HD4839 .R61 1994ISBN: 0871797771Publication Date: 1994-01-01Contains important terms for understanding industrial relations.
- The Developing Labor Law byCall Number: ILR KF3369 .D48 2017ISBN: 1682671445Publication Date: 2017-09-01This treatise gives labor and employment law practitioners essential insight into all the latest updates in U.S. labor law. It covers the legal rights and duties of employees, employers, and unions, as well as procedures and remedies under the National Labor Relations Act. Updated regularly, it discusses major cases and what might be expected from the Board in the future.
- WEX--Cornell Legal Information InstituteCommunity-built legal dictionary and encyclopedia, sponsored by Cornell's Legal Information Institute.
- West Academic Study AidsNumerous study aids, treatises and audio/video lectures designed to help students succeed in law school. It includes many series like Acing, Exam Pro, Hornbooks, and the famous Nutshell Series.
- Thomson Reuters WestlawThomson Reuters Westlaw provides users with access to core legal, analytical, and litigation resources. Also called Westlaw Patron Access. Of interest to ILR, this database includes access to Public Employment Reporters and Arbitration resources, including labor arbitration decisions. NOTE: this subscription allows for 2 simultaneous users only and while it is open to the library community, it must be accessed from within the ILR School.