Skip to main content

Popular Periodicals: 19th & 20th Centuries: Databases

A reference guide to historical indexes and sources for popular/mass market periodicals published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain.

Full-Text

APS Online (American Periodicals Series)
APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period-200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers.
British Periodicals
Offers searchable full text and facsimile page images for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. The complete title list and issue coverage is available on an Excel spreadsheet.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive's ebook library contains digital copies of many general interest periodicals from the 19th and early 20th centuries, as well as pulp magazines such as Air Wonder Stories, Amazing Stories, and Weird Tales.
Making of America
Digital versions of selections from Cornell University Library’s collection. Features monograph volumes and journal articles published in the nineteenth century. Focuses on the major journal literature of the period (e.g., Harpers, The Atlantic Monthly, The Living Age), ranging from general interest publications to those with more targeted audiences such as agriculture. Links to the University of Michigan’s collection by the same title.
Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
This resource contains digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. These original archival materials are from various libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials and ephemera and memorabilia. Part II contains additional material, such as music, press kits, mail order catalogues, advertising proofs, additional photos from the Mirrorpix archives, and documents on student unrest and the Troubles in Northern Ireland from the National Archives.
Google Books
Why not?

Title-specific Sources

Atlantic Monthly Archive
Searchable index to the magazine from November 1857 - Present. Full-text available. Some material is free, some is not. An alternative to MOA, which only covers up through 1901. Not a CUL resource.
HarpWeek
An index to Harper’s weekly magazine with browsable full text of Harper’s weekly. Covers 1857-1912.
Life
This link takes you to Google Books' "About This Magazine" page for Life. Scroll down a bit for the "Browse All Issues" section, which allows you to select individual issues. Use Google Books' Advanced search page to do specific keyword searches. Here is a brief (and somewhat informal) screencast you might find helpful in navigating this resource.

Indexes

 

Readers’ Guide Retrospective
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. The database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
19th Century Masterfile: a paratext resource
19th century masterfile is a reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century.  An enhanced Web edition of William Frederick Poole's Index to Periodical Literature.
 
 
Periodicals Index Online (formerly, PCI)
Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Coverage currently extends from 1665 through 1995.


From the Ad*Access Database