Skip to main content

5 Key Tips for Chemists: 2. Managing papers and references

Citation Management Software

Post questions or comments for the library to: CITEMANAGE-L@cornell.edu.

Basics

Endnote

Endnote Online

Zotero

Mendeley

Papers

Where do I get it?

Purchase or use in most campus computing labs

Via any ISI database or www.myendnoteweb.com

www.zotero.org

www.mendeley.com

http://www.papersapp.com/

Where can I use it?

On a computer with Endnote installed. Works offline.

Anywhere with web access

On the Firefox browser with Zotero extension installed or on Safari & Chrome using Zotero Standalone. Offline access of saved citations & files.

Software client on your personal computer, and access Web account using any web browser. Offline access of saved citations & files.

Software client on your personal computer, iPhone, IPad.

Does it cost anything?

Yes

No (free)

No (free)

No (free), but $ for groups of 4+

Yes

Where are my references stored?

Locally, on your computer

Remotely, on the web

Locally, on your computer. Backup references on Web

Locally, on your computer. and sync/back-up online

Locally on computer,

What happens when I leave Cornell?

Program purchased & loaded on your computer.

Free web access (you do lose some minor functionality when not at an institution with a Web of Knowledge account)

Free web access

Free web access

Program purchased & loaded on your computer.

Campus workshops/Campus support?

Yes/Yes

No/Yes

Yes/Yes

Yes/Yes

No/No

Version referenced

Endnote XVI

Endnote Web 2.7

Zotero 4.0.8

1.8.4

Papers/Papers2

 

Endnote

Endnote Online

Zotero

Mendeley

Papers

Exporting from Databases

 

 

 

 

 

Proquest Databases (Dissertations, ABI/INFORM, Research Library, etc)

Direct export

Direct export

Direct export

No

 

Ebsco Databases (Psycinfo, Business Source Complete, MLA, etc)

Direct Export

Direct Export

Direct export

Incomplete--Direct export with Web Exporter only retrieves title and url.

 

ISI Databases (Web of Science, Biosis, CAB, etc)

Direct Export

Direct Export

Direct export

Direct export with Web Exporter plugin installed

Yes

JSTOR

Direct export

Direct export

Direct export

Direct export with Web Exporter plugin installed

 

Pubmed

Send to file, Medline format. Import text file using Pubmed Filter.

Send to file, Medline format. Import text file using Pubmed Filter.

Direct export

Direct export with Web Exporter plugin installed

Yes

 

Endnote

Endnote Online

Zotero

Mendeley

Papers

What does this work with?

 

 

 

 

 

Works with PCs and Macs?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes (and Linux)

Papers 3 Mac and PC; earlier versions only Mac

If web based, which browsers?

NA

IE, Firefox, Safari

Regular Zotero works with Firefox. Zotero Stand Alone works with Chrome and Safari as well.

All

N/A

Export references directly from major databases to program?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Bookmarklet supports list of databases--see above for details

Direct search and import from certain databases

Search databases directly from
program?

Yes, certain databases*

Yes, certain databases*

No

No

Yes, certain databases*

Import references from other citation management
programs?

Yes*

Yes*

Yes

Yes

Yes

Import & Extract PDFs?

Yes, Endnote 14+

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Modify and create filters?

Yes

No

No

No

No

 

Endnote

Endnote Online

Zotero

Mendeley

Papers

Bibliographies

 

 

 

 

 

Format citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes in Papers2; original version has workaround with EndNote and Word

Works with other word processors?

Pages (X2)

 

LibreOffice/OpenOffice/NeoOffice

OpenOffice

No

Modify and create output styles?

Yes--easy

No

Yes--but somewhat difficult

Yes--but somewhat difficult

No

 

Endnote

Endnote Online

Zotero

Mendeley

Papers

Files

 

 

 

 

 

Attach files (PDF, etc.) to references?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Read & Mark Up Attached PDFs?

Yes--newer versions

n/a

Not built in--use Adobe Reader

Yes

Yes

Where are attached files stored?

Locally, on computer

n/a

Locally and backed up online on Zotero servers; or online with Webdav such as cloudme.com

Locally and backed-up online on Mendeley servers

Locally

Search full text of attached articles?

 

NA

Yes

Yes

Yes

Link to images and other files stored locally?

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

No

"Get it Cornell" link from citations?

No

Yes

Yes, by setting preferences.

Yes in online Mendeley (not desktop)

No

How much free online storage do I get ?

Unlimited citations/5 gb attachments, via Endnote Online

50k citations/2 gb attachments

300 mb (unlimited syncing of citations, and attachments can be stored in Webdav such as cloudme.com for additional free space)

2 gb personal storage; 100 mb group storage

N/A

 

Endnote

Endnote Online

Zotero

Mendeley

Papers

Collaboration

 

 

 

 

 

Can groups access for editing and modifying?

No

Yes---groups at Cornell can create a shared group

Yes, create a private group.

Yes--one free private group of up to 3 members. $ for more groups/members.

No

Share your references publicly?

No

No

Yes for beta 2.0

Yes

New sharing and collaboration features in Papers2

 

Endnote

Endnote Online

Zotero

Mendeley

Papers

Miscellaneous

 

 

 

 

 

Unique features?

  • Edit import filters
  • Find full text articles automatically (Endnote 12 & up)
  • Import & Extract metadata from PDFs (14+)
  • Import Refworks file--export from RW with "Bibliographic Software" output style & import with "Reference Manage (RIS)" filter
  • Firefox toolbar saves online references directly into your library
  • "Senses" bibliographic info on a web page and imports data and pdf
  • Screenshots of web pages
  • Mendeley automatically imports pdfs added to Watched Folders--
  • Auto-detect when new files are added to your desktop.
  • View aggregate statistics of journals and papers
  • User profiles
  • Not a citation manager but a program to organize your PDFs and metadata; can export to EndNote, BibTex, Bookends, RIS format, etc* Uses Mac-based features like Spotlight, tabbed reading
  • Mobile support
  • Best for those in sciences

Known technical issues?

 

 

  • Use of LibX toolbar may disrupt Zotero's proxy (off-campus) settings.

 

 

Additional help?

www.endnote.com/support/ensupport.asp

www.myendnoteweb.com/help/ENW/help.htm

www.zotero.org/support/

feedback.mendeley.com

http://www.mekentosj.com/papers/help15/pgs/
gettingstarted.html or check the software help