Includes data from around the world, although U.S. data predominates.
Countries and their Cultures, Olin Library Reference GN307 .C68x 2001 +
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2001. Provides a good general overview of a country's geography, history, demography, languages, food, economy, etiquette, politics, family, religion, and arts and humanities.
Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit. Provides pricing information on over 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide. Items range from the cost of a loaf of bread to the average electricity bill of a local family. Includes major US cities.
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD ... OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
Political Handbook of the World, Olin Library JF37 .P76 + (Latest volume in Reference)
"Features country profiles that provide key facts, history, politics and government, current issues and events, political parties both official and quasi-official, national election results and office holders, and communications outlets. Also provides profiles of major intergovernmental organizations." (Guide to Reference)
The Statesman’s Yearbook, Olin Library JA51 .S79 (Latest volume in Reference)
Published since 1864, The Statesman's Yearbook provides a general survey of the history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country. Especially detailed for Commonwealth countries (e.g. India).