Skip to main content

Mann Library Portal for Cornell Cooperative Extension*: Contact Our Experts

Chat with a Librarian

Contact Our Experts at Mann

Here's a list of subject areas we can help you with--feel free to contact the listed Mann library staff member directly, or email Jim Morris-Knower and he'll forward your question to the right person to give you an expert answer.

Agricultural Data Sources, USDA
Description:  Sources of agriculture / agricultural data - international and domestic USA,  USDA system
Coverage: consultations, research support and course help
Contact: Ashley Downs ald52@cornell.edu; Greg Lawrence gwl1@cornell.edu; Tom Ottaviano tjo65@cornell.edu

Bloomberg, DataStream
Description: Financial technologies & market data sources
Coverage: Workshops, consultations, research support and course help
Contact: Tom Ottaviano tjo65@cornell.edu; Greg Lawrence gwl1@cornell.edu

Business Research
Description: Market research, business news, company research, business plans and interview preparation
Coverage: Workshops, consultations, research support and course help
Contact: Tom Ottaviano tjo65@cornell.edu; Greg Lawrence gwl@cornell.edu; Camille Andrews ca92@cornell.edu

Census Data
Description: finding and using demographic data from US Census
Coverage: consultations and general support
Contact: Gail Steinhart, gss1@cornell.edu; Tom Ottaviano  tjo65@cornell.edu; Sarah Young sy493@cornell.edu; Keith Jenkins kgj2@cornell.edu; Erica Johns emj73@cornell.edu

Copyright
Description: questions regarding copyright & library resources
Coverage: consultations
Contact: Michael Cook mnc2@cornell.edu

Current Awareness Tools
Description: keeping current with news and research via Google Reader, delicious.com, diigo, Connotea, RSS feeds in general.
Coverage: workshops, consultations and general support.
Contact: Gail Steinhart, gss1@cornell.edu; Camille Andrews ca92@cornell.edu; Erica Johns emj73@cornell.edu

Datasets
Description: locating datasets
Coverage: consultations
Contact: Gail Steinhart, gss1@cornell.edu; Keith Jenkins kgj2@cornell.edu; Erica Johns emj73@cornell.edu

Dreamweaver
Description: Web page creation software (Dreamweaver)
Coverage: Workshops, consultations and general support
Contact: Michael Cook (mnc2@cornell.edu)

Education
Description: Usage of proprietary and free education and curriculum resources including ERIC
Coverage: Workshops, Consultations, and general support
Contact: Camille Andrews, ca92@cornell.edu

Citation management software
Description: Citation management software programs
Coverage: Workshops, Consultations, and general support
Contact: Jim Morris-Knower jpk15@cornell.edu; Gail Steinhart gss1@cornell.edu (basic RefWorks questions); Sarah Young sy493@cornell.edu; Erica Johns emj73@cornell.edu

Environmental Data
Description: environmental sciences data
Coverage: consultations and general support
Contact: Gail Steinhart, gss1@cornell.edu; Erica Johns emj73@cornell.edu

Excel
Description: Beginner and intermediate excel, especially for business students
Coverage: Workshops and consultations (limited support)
Contact: Greg Lawrence gwl@cornell.edu; Sarah Young sy493@cornell.edu

Geospatial data sources
Description: help finding data for use in GIS
Coverage: consultations, general support
Contact: Keith Jenkins <kgj2@cornell.edu> (primary contact); Jeff Piestrak - jmp36@cornell.edu

GIS: ArcGIS, Manifold, QGIS
Description: GIS (Geographic Information System) software programs
Coverage: workshops, consultations, and general support
Contact: Keith Jenkins kgj2@cornell.edu (primary contact); Jeff Piestrak - jmp36@cornell.edu

Life Science Databases
Description: Usage of Web of Knowledge and other life sciences databases
Coverage: Workshops, Consultations, and general support
Contact: ALL

Life and Health Sciences Research
Description: help with agriculture, microbial ecology, bioinformatics tools, & introductory genomics
Coverage: Workshops, Consultations, and general support
Contact: Sarah Young sy493@cornell.edu

Macro-economic data and research
Description: Macro-economic data sources and scholarly resources
Coverage: Consultations, research support and course help
Contact: Tom Ottaviano  tjo65@cornell.edu

Mann Equipment Support (e.g. cameras, recorders, GPS)
Description: Equipment loans and use (and associated software)
Coverage: Consultations and general support
Contact. Jeff Piestrak jmp36@cornell.edu

PowerPoint
Description: Presentation software (both 2003 and 2007 versions for PC only)
Coverage: Workshops, Consultations, and general support
Contact: Camille Andrews, ca92@cornell.edu

Social Sciences Research
Description: Social sciences research strategies in the subject areas of business, economics, policy analysis & communication
Coverage: Consultations, research support and course help
Contact: Jim Morris-Knower jpk15@cornell.edu; Sarah Young sy493@cornell.edu

Special Collections
Description: help with questions about Mann's special collections of rare and archival materials
Coverage: consultations
Contact: Linda Stewart, lgs1@cornell.edu

VIVO and Graduate Education in the Life Sciences portal
Description: Tools to find collaborators, resources, and info on research and education in the life sciences and other disciplines at Cornell
Coverage: Workshops, consultations, and general support
Contact: Kathy Chiang ksc3@cornell.edu; Erica Johns emj73@cornell.edu

Video editing w/iMovie
Description: basic camcorder/video capture & editing (iMovie, etc.)
Coverage: consultations and general support
Contact: Matt Ryan mrr15@cornell.edu