Skip to main content

Unexpected Images: Images of Cornell

A guide to "hidden" image collections in text-based databases and other resources for finding archival images.

CU Daily Sun

The Cornell Daily Sun is available digitally, beginning with 1880, though the coverage over the years is not complete. For more recent coverage, try the Cornell Daily Sun web site.

Many other college and university newspapers have digitized their collections. Check American Historical Newspapers Online for others.

Other publications: Cornell Era and Class Books (Cornell Digital Archives)

Cornell Alumni Magazine on eCommons. Tip: enter search terms in a Google search and add the phrase (in quotation marks) "Cornell Alumni Magazine"

 

Historic Cornell Images

The most significant resource for historic images of Cornell is Cornell's University Archives, housed in the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections in Kroch Library. Quite a few of those images have been digitized and added the online collection:

Images from Cornell's Rare Book and Manuscript Collections

Campus artifacts, art & memorabilia  includes about 2000 plaques, pictures, sculptures, and other objects of artistic and historical interest located on the Cornell campus. It is based on the 1984 book "Contributions to Cornell History: Portraits and Memorabilia."

Ezra Cornell Papers: accounts, broadsides, correspondence, estimates, memoranda, maps, newspaper clippings, and other papers relating to Ezra Cornell, held in the Cornell University Library, Division of Rare and Manuscripts.

Cornell Today

For more contemporary images of Cornell, try:

University Photography Image Library

Flickr

contains thousands of images of Cornell (the campus and events like Dragon Day).

Basic Search

Search for photos by keyword or tags, such as: Cornell University.

Remember to check the license ("all rights reserved" or Creative Commons) if you want to use the photo. More on using images from Flickr.

Advanced Search

Use advanced search to limit to Creative Commons license.

Cornell

A surprising number of digital images exist that document the Cornell University experience. Here are some traditional image resources and other digital resources that contain images.