Electronic
Primary Historical Sources
APS covers more than 150 years of American magazine journalism, from 1749-1900.
Has archives of the New York Times (1851 - 2002), Washington Post (1889 - 1988), and Wall Street Journal (1877 - 1989).
19th century masterfile/Poole's Plus is a reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century. It is a scholarly tool for mining the riches of this extraordinary period. It is a great deal more than an enhanced Web edition of William Frederick Poole's index to Periodical Literature. It is a continually expanding resource for the study of Nineteenth-Century cultural and intellectual life.
- Periodical Contents Index 1770-1993
Index to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages
Indexes popular magazines from 1890 to 1982.
An online database containing the full text of a large number of newspaper titles published in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in the United States. A few are available in the original paper format. Articles are reproduced as PDFs.
This searchable database contains a representative collection of agricultural texts published during the period 1850-1950. These full-text materials cover the areas of agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crop protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Published between 1850 and 1950, these titles were selected by teams of scholars for the great historical importance they hold. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site.
- Making of America University of Michigan
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles. The collection continues to grow through a collaboration with the Library of Congress to deliver the journal Garden and Forest and through continued digitization.
- Making of America The Cornell University Library MOA collection
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to over 250 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. This collection differs from the University of Michigan collection of the same name, emphasizing journal articles.
Secondary Historical Sources
Indexes and abstracts national, regional, and international journals, book and media reviews, dissertations, and books covering American and Canadian history from pre-history to the present. Includes materials from archival, library, and historical society collections. This publication is an outgrowth of the earlier Historical Abstracts which attempted to cover U.S. history as well as world history. Provides coverage from 1964 to the present.JSTORArts & humanities citation index (A&HCI)
- This is one of the earliest subject indexes for twentieth century agricultural publications, including experiment station publications and USDA bulletins. Several hundred periodicals are also indexed.
- This set of volumes displays, in alphabetical order by subject and author, the catalog cards for publications housed in the National Agricultural Library and published from 1862 to 1965. Individual periodical articles are often listed on separate cards, so this catalog can also serve as a periodical index. An advantage of using it is that each subject or author needs to be checked only once to get the whole 1862-1965 range.
- This is an index of publications, including periodicals, received by the USDA. There are both author and subject indexes.
Use the Library Catalog to find Books
- Includes the holdings of 19 Cornell University libraries (over 7 million items), and access to books and other resources from across the country and worldwide.
- Contains records for books, DVD's/videos, sound recordings, magazines/newspapers/journals, computer files, government documents, manuscripts and archives, maps, musical scores, and more.