Skip to main content

Digital Images for Research and Teaching: Licensed databases

Searches

There are two basic types of image searches:

  • Quick searches
  • Single collection searches

Start by disabling any pop-up blockers that your browser or browser toolbars may have activated.

For help in disabling pop-up blockers, see:

ARTstor Help

If you’re using a PC with Internet Explorer, you can hold down the control key while you click to launch a collection, which will override the pop-up blocker.

Searching Licensed Image Resources at Cornell

Cornell has built or subscribes to a number of image databases that give Cornell community members access to millions of images, most with high resolution and rich descriptions.

Cornell offers a Quick Search, which allows you to search different collections. To get there from the library's home page, click on the Images tab. There are three options to search:
  • ARTstor*
  • Flickr Commons

If you click on the images tab, then follow the link to Browse Image Collections, you'll find a list of image databases besides the three databases available for quick search. Just click on the name of the database to launch it.

*Due to a temporary technical problem, off-campus users will need to re-enter their search terms when taken to the ARTstor homepage.

Oxford Art

Oxford art online

Oxford Art Online (OAO) enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists. Includes a digital image search.

Web Accessibility Assistance