An index or abstract serves as either a print or online specialized entrée into selected topics or sources; they are as unique and varied as the universe of periodicals, newspapers and wiki’s; there are scores of them and they are either printed and/or are available online (some are free but most are only available via a contract or through affiliation with an entity such as a college or university, government agency and some public libraries). This list is split into two categories: FREE access and FEE access.
To focus on the business and policy aspects of biofuels, search ProQuest Research Library or PAIS; for government research documents and technical reports, try any of the free resources listed below; and for searching a broad range of information on biofuels, Bioenergy, biomass energy and energy crops, the CAB database is extensive and very global in content.
Let your search terms be fairly concise, and if available, use advanced search options to refine the results retrieved from your search. If you have limited time and/or energy, the
If you are affiliated with
ACCESSIBLE for FREE
USDA’s National Agricultural Library’s database of books and articles
This database is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Energy Citations Database 1948-present
Provides free access to over 2.3 million science research citations, with continued growth through regular updates, and there are over 209,000 electronic documents available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. DOE
From EPA’s homepage, enter search terms to retrieve current and archival documents
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations are included.
Information Bridge 1995 -present
Index and full text of DOE sponsored research literature. This includes literature indexed in the Energy Citations Database
National Technical Information Service
NTIS, an agency of the US Dept of Commerce, provides access to more than 3 million scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information;
WARNING: do NOT enter search terms in ‘Site Search’ (it only searches the web page); rather, enter your search in ‘Technical Reports Search.’
A free web search engine developed especially for scientists, researchers and students. It enables anyone searching for scientific information to pinpoint the information they need - including peer-reviewed articles, patent information, author home pages and university web sites.
A free expert-generated knowledge-sharing service for the scientific community. Developed to serve as an information and collaboration service for researchers; selected authors are invited to write summaries on specific scientific, technical and medical topics for which they are considered to be experts. In addition, authors provide a list of references and relevant links to other websites for more information.
ACCESSIBLE for a FEE
These databases are usually only available via a contract or through direct affiliation with an academic institution, government agency, business entity or some public libraries. Web address listed here will generally only take you to the products home page and not into the database. Members of the Cornell Community should link to these databases via the CUL A-Z List of Databases http://wfxsearch.webfeat.org/clients/wfxcornell/cornellaz.asp?cid=12378&catID=All%20Resources
ABI Inform is an extensive international business and management database, containing bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in worldwide professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
The world's foremost source of reference to internationally published biofuels and bioenergy research, this fully searchable abstracts database provides you with the latest information on biofuels and bioenergy, including production of energy crops, energy forestry, short-rotation coppice, processing of energy crops into biodiesel or fuel ethanol, and utilization of fuelwood. Coverage also includes production of biogas from livestock wastes and agricultural residues, fermentation technology, and energy policy, global change and land use issues affecting the biofuels market. Citations are gleaned from CAB Abstracts.
Issued as a part of the ISI Web of Knowledge, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology as well as related fields such as agriculture and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, bioengineering, and biotechnology.
This database encompasses Agricultural Engineering Abstracts, Field Crop Abstracts and Forestry Products Abstracts (and other specialty topics). International in scope.
Web-based information service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering.
Environmental Issues and Policy Index
Provides researchers with abstracts and indexing for over 1,000 titles covering environmental policy and studies.
Contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses.
Web of Science
Accesses the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Wilson OmniFile Fulltext
Electronic access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals