Skip to main content

Technical reports (NASA, DOE, etc.)

How to find and obtain technical reports, particularly those held by the Cornell libraries

Technical reports

 

Technical reports from the various laboratories of the United States Department of Energy and the Atomic Energy Commission can often be found via SciTech Connect, a service of the DoE's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).

However, much as with NASA's technical report holdings, the Department of Energy is still working to digitize their backfiles of technical reports from earlier years. Therefore, students and scholars trying to find information from technical reports produced by DoE laboratories may wish to use this chart to see the technical report holdings of the Cornell University Libraries.

Some of these technical reports are in microfiche format whereas others are hardcopy "paper" documents and almost all are presently stored at the Library Annex. They can usually be delivered to libraries closer to campus within 24 hours. If you need help, please do not hesitate to ask library staff for assistance or else use this page for instructions on how to request items from the Annex.

In the table below, there are some cases of more than one series produced by a single laboratory. These were in some cases entered as separate catalog entries by CU Libraries.

 

Table Guide to Department of Energy & Atomic Energy Commission laboratories Technical Report Holdings

 

Abbrievation of
Report Series &
Link to Catalog Record

Name of Report Series

Format and Range of Holdings at
Cornell University Libraries
ANL (also includes series ANL/A, ANL-AA, ANL-ACL, ANL-ACTV, ANL-AFP, etc.)
Argonne National Laboratory

microfiche: ANL 72-9 - ANL-ZPR 495

paper: extensive holdings (see catalog record)

ANL Argonne National Laboratory, Biological and Medical Research Division paper: 1961-1963
ANL Argonne National Laboratory, Biological and Medical Research Division paper: 1960
ANL Argonne National Laboratory, Biological and Medical Research Division paper: 1958-1959
ANL/CNSV Argonne National Laboratory paper: no.TM:88,132,135
ANL-CT Argonne National Laboratory paper: no.23(1980)
ANL/EES Argonne National Laboratory paper: no.TM-232
ANL/ES Argonne National Laboratory paper: no.1-2,4-5,40:pt.3,14,16-17;46
ANL-FE Argonne National Laboratory paper: no. 49622-12
ANL-FWT Argonne National Laboratory paper: no. 105
ANL-JMW Argonne National Laboratory paper: no. 45
ANL/PHY Argonne National Laboratory paper: no.2(1976)
ANL/SPG Argonne National Laboratory paper: no.12
ANL-Trans Argonne National Laboratory paper: no.33,168
ANL-WMM Argonne National Laboratory paper: no.1140
BMI- (also includes series BMI-NUREG, BMI-OCRD, BMI-ONWI, BMI-OTSP, BMI-OWTD, BMI-SRP) Battelle Memorial Institute

microfiche: BMI-171-001 to BMI-1899,BMI-1900 to BMI-ONWIC-120, BMI-ONWIC-121-BMI-X-10286

BNL (also includes series BNL-A, BNL-NCS, BNL-NUREG, BNL-Tr.) Brookhaven National Laboratory microfiche: BNL 325 - BNL-Tr 1074
BNL Brookhaven National Laboratory paper: extensive holdings (see catalog record)
BNWL- (also includes series BNWL-B, BNWL-C, BNWL-CC, BNWL-D, BNWL-IR, BNWL-MA, BNWL-PFR, BNWL-RAP, BNWL-SA, BNWL-Tr, BNWL-WIND, etc.) Battelle Northwest Laboratory microfiche: BNWL 2 to BMWL-WIND 10
BNWL Battelle Northwest Laboratory paper: no. 115
BNWL Battelle Northwest Laboratory paper: no. 317
CONF- Department of Energy, conference reports microfiche: CONF-12-5 to CONF-96091-14 (CONF microfiche are arranged as follows: CONF [year] [month] [number], i.e., CONF 780519)
COO- (includes COO-SH,COO-W, etc.) Department of Energy, Chicago Operations Office microfiche: extensive holdings; COO 0003/13 - COO-W 4338/1
DOE- (includes DOE/AD, DOE/AL, DOE/AF, DOE/AN, etc.) Department of Energy microfiche: extensive holdings (see catalog record)
DOE/AD Department of Energy, Directorate of Administration paper: no.6,8-14 (1979-1981)
EPRI- (includes: EPRI-AF, EPRI-AP, EPRI-CS, EPRI-EL, EPRI-EM, etc.) Department of Energy, Electric Power Research Institute microfiche: ERDA 1 - ERDA/USN 1027-76/4 (lacking some issues)
FE- (includes: FE-COSC, FE-DSFMP, FE-EES, FE-MIT, FE-SFMP, FE-WAPO, etc.) Department of Energy, Office of Fossil Energy microfiche: FE 0023 - FE/VERTRAG 150 (lacking some issues)
FNAL- (includes: FNAL-C, FNAL-Pub, FNAL-TM, FNAL-Trans, etc.) Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory microfiche: FNAL 84/81 - FNAL TM 1974 (lacking some issues)
FRNC- (includes: FRNC-Conf, FRNC-R, FRNC-TH, etc.) Stanford Linear Accelerator Center microfiche: FRNC-CONF 8 - FRNC-TH 5321 (lacking some issues)
HEDL- (includes: HEDL-ANL, HEDL-ARD, HEDL-BR, HEDL-FP, HEDL-FW, HEDL-HWS, HEDL-INT, HEDL-MG, HEDL-MT, HEDL-ORE, HEDL-PC, HEDL-SA, HEDL-WHAN, etc.) Hanford Engineering Development Laboratory microfiche: HEDL 037 - HEDL-WHAN-M 8 (lacking some issues)
HW- (includes: HW-BMI, WH-GEL, HW-NUSAR, HW-SA, HW-SB, HW-Tr, HW-USCM, HW-WSU) Hanford Atomic Works

microfiche: HW 3-7 - HW-WSU 8 (lacking some issues)

paper: extensive holdings (see catalog record)

IC- (includes: IC-65 (i.e., year) to IC-90) International Centre for Theoretical Physics microfiche: IC-65-2 to IC-65-35, IC-65-36 to IC-81-239, IC-82-1 to IC-90-237
IS- (includes: IS-EMRRI, IS-EPA, IS-ICP, IS-IPRT, IS-J, IS-M, IS-RD, IS-RIC, IS-T, IS-Trans) Iowa State University of Science and Technology, Ames Laboratory microfiche: IS 450 to IS Trans 111 (lacking some issues)
LA. (includes: LA-DC, LA-NUREG, LA-S, LA-SUB, LA-TR, LA-UR) Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory

microfiche: LA 1 to LA-UR-96-2301 (lacking some issues)

paper: extensive holdings (see catalog record)

LBL- (includes: LBL-MSG, LBL-PUB, LBL-PUBL, LBL-W) Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory microfiche: LBL 1 to LBL-W 7882 (lacking some issues)
NP- (includes: NP-Tr) United States Atomic Energy Commission, Oak Ridge Laboratory microfiche: LBL 1 to LBL-W 7882 (lacking some issues)
NREL- (includes: NREL-CP, NREL-MK, NREL-MP, NREL-SP and NREL-TP) National Renewable Energy Laboratory microfiche: NREL/CP-200-5768-v.1 to NREL/TP-411-20279, NREL/TP-411-20352 to NREL/TP-473-20306 (lacking some issues)
NVO- Department of Energy, Nevada Operations Office microfiche: NVO 0011-1 to NVO-AEIC 74-1 (lacking some issues)
NYO- United States Atomic Energy Commission, New York Operations Office microfiche: NYO 72-28 to NYO-GEN 72-132 (lacking some issues)
ORNL- (includes: ORNL/AIC, ORNL/AMPIC, ORNL/TM, ORNL/TR, etc.) United States Department of Energy, Oak Ridge National Laboratory microfiche: ORNL 56-9-81 to ORNL-TW 1071 (lacking some issues)
ORO- (includes: ORO-EP, etc.) United States Department of Energy, Oak Ridge Operations Office microfiche: ORO 31 to ORO-EP 153 (lacking some issues)
PNL- (includes: PNL-CMCC, PNL-D, PNL-MA, PNL-RAP, PNL-SA, PNL-TR, etc.) United States Department of Energy, Pacific Northwest Laboratory microfiche: PNL 1845-37 to PNL-X 765 (lacking some issues)
PPPL- (includes: PPPL-AF, PPPL-CRP, PPPL-EPRI, PPPL-LPDA, PPPL-Q, PPPL-TH, PPPL-Trans, etc.) Princeton University Plasma Physics Laboratory microfiche: PPPL 1243 to PPPL-Trans 133 (lacking some issues)
RFP- (includes RFP-Abst, RFP-ADD, RFP-ENV, RFP-NUREG, and RFP-Trans.) United States Department of Energy, Rocky Flats Plant microfiche: RFP 111 to RFP-Trans 525 (lacking some issues)
RL- (includes RL-GEN, RL-NRD, RL-REA, RL-SA and RL-SEP) United States Department of Energy, Richland Operations Office microfiche: RL (Richland) 2-3 to RL (Richland) SEP 939 (lacking some issues)
RL- United States Department of Energy, Rutherford Laboratory microfiche: RL (Rutherford) 73-2 to RL (Rutherford) 83-019 (lacking some issues)
RLO (RLO--REA, RLO-SA, RLO-SEP and RLO-SFM) United States Department of Energy, Richland Operations Office microfiche: RLO 75-1 to RLO-SFM 82-7 (lacking some issues)
SAND- United States Department of Energy, Sandia National Laboratories microfiche: SAND-1137-9 to SAND-98-2501 (lacking some issues)
SC- (includes: SC-ARPIC, SC-B, SC-CD, SC-CR, SC-DC, SC-DR, SC-M, SC-PR, SC-R, SC-RR, SC-T, SC-TM, and SC-WD) United States Department of Energy, Sandia Corporation microfiche: SC-76-311742 to SC-WD-67-426 (lacking some issues)
SLAC- (includes: SLAC-ABC, SLAC-AP, SLAC-CN, SLAC-PEP Note, SLAC-PUB, SLAC-R, SLAC-TN, SLAC-Trans, etc.) Stanford Linear Accelerator Center microfiche: SLAC-17 to SLAC-TRANS-0233 (lacking some issues)
TID- (includes: TID-LERC, TID-SNA, TID-SNG, TID-SNM, TID-SNW, etc.) U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, Technical Information Service microfiche: TID-81 to TID-SNW-136 (lacking some issues)
UCID- (includes: UCID-ID) United States Department of Energy, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory microfiche: UCID-1165 to UCID-ID-112778 (lacking some issues)
UCRL (includes: UCRL/AR, UCRL/CR, UCRL/ID, UCRL/JC, UCRL/LR, UCRL/MA, UCRL/PUB, UCRL/TB, UCRL/Trans, UCRL/TT) United States Department of Energy, Lawrence Radiation Laboratory

microfiche: UCRL-68 to UCRL-TT-108790 (lacking some issues)

paper: extensive holdings (see record)

WANL- (includes: WANL-EOM, WANL-MP, WANL-PR, WANL-QC, WANL-TME, WANL-TMI, WANL-TNP, WANL-TNR, WANL-TR, WANL-W, WANL-XE, etc.) Westinghouse Electric Corporation, Astronuclear Laboratory microfiche: WANL-066 to WANL-XE-SA-319 (lacking some issues)
WAPD- (includes: WAPD-LPR, WAPD-LSBR, WAPD-LWBR, WAPD-MRP, WAPD-PWR, WAPD-RC, WAPD-T, WAPD-TM, WAPD-Trans, etc.)
Westinghouse Electric Corporation, Atomic Power Division
microfiche: WAPD-292 to WAPD-TRANS-134 (lacking some issues)
WARD- (includes: WARD-AD, WARD-CG, WARD-CN, WARD-CR, WARD-D, WARD-HT, WARD-LI, WARD-LT, WARD-MRP, etc.)
Westinghouse Electric Corporation, Advanced Reactors Division
microfiche: WARD-1-10134 to WARD-3762 (lacking some issues)
WASH- U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, Office of Operations Analysis and Forecasting microfiche: WASH-1043 to WASH-2808 (lacking some issues)
WHC- ( includes: WHC-EP, WHC-MR, WHC-SA, WHC-SD, WHC-SP, etc.) Westinghouse Electric Corporation, Westinghouse Hanford Company microfiche: WHC-EP-0003 to WHC-SP-2332 (lacking some issues)