All microfiche is kept at the Library Annex. However, we have equipment that can directly make a PDF file from a microfiche record. You can request a scanned copy from our document delivery service. Be sure to specify exactly which report you need.
You can also contact the Engineering Library with questions - <a href="mailto:firstname.lastname@example.org">email@example.com</a>, or call 607-254-6261.
For certain "lost" technical reports from the 1940s and 1950s, there is a paper published by the University of Nebraska here. Many of these reports are not available from the NTIS or other sources but methods for obtaining them via the Library of Congress can be found within that paper.
|Government Agency, Lab, or Society||Agency, Lab, or Society Report Number Prefixes (filed under)||Coverage, content||Major databases, full text|
|ASME (American Society for Mechanical Engineers)||Example: 96-WA-7
|Department of Defense (DOD)technical reports, military standards, specifications||AD-, ADA- (Note: AD- and ADA- technical reports often have 7 digits in citations. But only 6 are printed on the reports themselves. Give only the first 6 digits to the Library Annex).||1978+|
|Department of Energy (DOE)||AEC- Atomic Energy Commission BNL- Brookhaven National Lab
DOE - Dept. of Energy
LBL- Lawrence Berkeley Lab
LA-UR - Los Alamos National Lab
ORNL - Oak Ridge National Lab
SAND - Sandia National Lab
UCRL - Lawrence Livermore Lab
|1947+ in microcard, paper, fiche1996+ only online||
OSTI Office of Scientific and Technical Information - If a report is not available, check our catalog to see if we have it.
Pages - Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science - free access to published scientific journal articles or accepted manuscripts within 12 months of publication.
|National Aeronautics and Space Administration||NASA Technical Report Server covers 1917 to present. Common acronyms:
NACA - National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics
NASA CR - contractor report
NASA TM - technical memorandum
NASA NIX - Image Exchange
NASA STI - Scientific and Technical Information Program
NASA SP - series publication
|1917+||NASA Technical Report Server The NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) provides publicly available documents. The NASA Aeronautics and Space Database (NA&SD) is another database and available only for registered users.|
|National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)||Accessible via this catalog record. New users will need to create a Public Account the first time they seek access.||One of world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results, the National Technical Reports Library (NTRL Public) offers 2.2 million titles, with links to over 700,000 corresponding digitized full-text technical reports.|
|Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)||PB- ((Note: PB- technical reports often have 7 digits in citations. But only 6 are printed on the reports themselves. Give only the first 6 digits to the Library Annex).||1978+ in microfiche, earlier years in print, check in Library Catalog under EPA followed by first 3 digits of report number, such as EPA 600, EPA 440, etc.||NTIS (1945+) - If a report is not available through NTIS, check our catalog to see if we have it.|
|Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Papers||960664, 2000-01-1003||1908+||We also have other, earlier SAE technical papers in hardcopy or microfiche, as follows:|
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) - The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
|Variety of agencies and departments.|
|U.S. Geological Survey Open File Reports||USGS OFR||1978+||Georef (1785+)|
|Many departments, including Commerce, Energy, Interior, Defense, EPA, etc.||C- Commerce, E- Energy
I- Interior, D- Defense
EP, EPA - EPA, T-Transportation
Y -Nuclear Regulatory Commission
|Some documents arrive with SUDOC numbers only. These are Superintendent Document numbers and found in the Government Monthly Catalog.||Monthly Catalog (pre 1976)
GPO Monthly Catalog (1976+)
|Others (distributed by the National Technical Information Service)||PB-||NTIS (1945+) - If a report is not available through NTIS, check our catalog to see if we have it.|