Skip to main content

Ancient Greek Literature: A Library Research Guide: Background

A guide to library research

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Online Classics

Oxford Reference Online 

 Oxford Reference Online Classics includes:

  • Companion to Classical Civilization
  • The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
  • Who's Who in the Classical World
  • The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin)
  • The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English)

Biography

Biography

Who Was Who in the Greek World: 776 B.C.--30 B.C. Ithaca: Cornell UP, 1982. (Uris Reference DF 208 W62+)

Who's who in the Greek World (2002)

 


Brill's Dictionary of Ancient Greek

OBO

 

Oxford bibliographies Online (OBO): Classics New and in-progress. Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies.

Encyclopedias

The Oxford classical dictionary. 4th ed. Excellent source. Covers biography, literature, mythology, philosophy, religion, science, geography of the classical world with bibliography.

Brill's New Pauly. Encyclopaedia of the ancient world. (Olin Library room 604-5 DE5 .N48 2002 +)

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.  1998. (Olin Reference DE5.O92x 1998+)

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations. 1980. (Olin Reference CB 311 E565+) 

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome. 1988. (Olin Reference DE 59 C58 1988; also Olin Reference ) 

Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition. 2000. (Olin Reference DF757.E53x 2000)

Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. 2002. (Olin Reference CB311 .E54x 2002) 

Grove Art Online  Articles, and over 1,500 thumbnail art images.

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History

Literature

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. 2 vols. New York: Scribners, 1982. (Uris Reference DE 5 A54; also Olin Reference + PA 3002 A54) A collection of essays.

Ancient Greek authors. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, c1997. (Shelved on the Literary Criticism Index Tables in Uris Reference PS129 .D55 v.176) The contents of this volume are also available through the Literature Resource Center

The Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy

Mythology

Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology. 1998. (Uris Reference BL 715 D56x 1998) 

Early Greek Myth: A guide to Literary and Artistic Sources. 1993.  (Olin Reference BL782.G21)

Encyclopedia of Ancient Dieties. 2000. (Olin Reference BL473 .C68 2000 +) 

The Encyclopedia of Religion.  1987. (Uris Reference BL 31 E55+; also Olin Reference )

The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. 1986. (Uris Reference BL 715 .G86 1986)

Gods and heroes : a quick guide to the occupations, associations and experiences of the Greek and Roman gods and heroes. 1977. (Olin Reference BL715 .H29) 

Funk and Wagnall's Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend. 1972. (Uris Reference GR 35 F98 1984, also Olin Reference) 

Encyclopedia of Creation Myths. 1994 

New Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology. 1968. (Uris Reference BL 310 G96+ 1974) 

Virginia Cole

Virginia A. Cole, Ph.D.'s picture
Virginia A. Cole, Ph.D.
Contact:
vac11@cornell.edu
106 Olin Library
Website