Skip to main content

Ancient Greek Literature: A Library Research Guide: Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles


The Steps

Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases.

Click on the link to get into the database

Search the database for articles.

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text!

If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into one of the Cornell Catalogs to search for the journal by title (not the article title)

Once you locate the journal (online or print) in the Catalog, then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!

Recommended databases for Classics Research

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details here

Major Journals in Classics

Quick Links to Selected Online Journals in Classics

Using a database to search and browse for articles is much more powerful than searching invididual journals, but most journals allow "alerts on new articles of interest" (as do many databases) or "current table of contents of new issues" which can be useful.

American journal of philology

American journal of philology

Bryn Mawr classical review


Greece & Rome 

Symbolae Osloenses auspiciis Societatis Graeco-Latinae.

The classical quarterly

The classical quarterly

Classical philology 

Classical antiquity 

The classical review


Quick Links to Selected Online Journal Collections in Classics

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive (does not include 3-5 most recent years)

Project Muse Collection (includes recent issues for many JSTOR journals)

Cambridge Journals Online

IngentaConnect Collection of online journals including many Oxford University Press titles (such as Classical Quarterly), Kluwer Academic Press titles, and Brill titles (such as Mnemosyne).

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.

Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.