Skip to main content

HIST 4000 - HIST 4001 History Honors (Spring 2018): Articles

A guide to library research for history honors thesis research

How to find articles

The Steps

Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases' subjects

Click on the link to get into the database

Search the database for articles

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text!

 
If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title)

Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

 

 

If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal NOT the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.

Essentials

America History and Life  Articles, books, dissertations on United States and Canadian history from pre-history to the 21st century.

Historical Abstracts  Articles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses  North American. 1861 to the present. Many full text online. Others available through ILL.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive  Excludes 3-5 years most recent articles. ALL JSTOR journals included in America History and Life/Historical Abstracts.

Project Muse  Companion to JSTOR with 3-5 most recent years. 

Web of Science  Includes Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences Citation Index. A multidisciplinary index to over 1200 leading international arts and humanities journals. It includes journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, poems, short stories, plays, musical scores, excerpts from books, and bibliographies. Allows tracking of cited references.

EBSCO Academic Search Premier  Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.

More Databases

Even more databases,  focusing on Asia, Latin America, the Middle Ages....

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)