Skip to main content

Classics 1531: Greek Myth (Fall 2017): 3. Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles

The Steps
Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases' subjects
Click on the link to get into the database
Search the database for articles

How to Get an Article

Not all articles are available full text.
If an article isn't available full text through a database.

 

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title)

Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details here.

Essentials

BEST BETS

APh (L'Annee Philologique) THE database of articles and books for Classical Antiquity. However, not as up to date as it could be.

Academic Search Premier Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text. Up to date.

Research Library Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.

 

 

Additional

JStor  Selected scholarly journals, completely full text. Excludes 3-5 years most recent articles.

Project Muse  Completely full text. Complements JStor with 3-5 most recent years.

MLA International Bibliography   Books and articles about modern literature and film.

Humanities international index  Nicely complements APh with up-to-date content. Some full text.

 

Summon/Search for articles

Search a number of databases at one time using Summon, or go into individual databases for your searches.

Summon / Search for Articles

Summon (Articles & Full Text) searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items).

Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, Summon doesn't search all library resources. Use subject-specific databases (link to the right of Articles & Full Text) for comprehensive or focused searching.