Skip to main content

Classics 1531: Greek Myth (Spring 2018): 1. Encyclopedias

A guide to library research

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Classics Citation Abbreviations

In Classics scholarship,  titles of journals as well as Classical texts are often highly abbreviated.

A list of commonly used journal title abbreviations:
http://projects.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tdata/revues.txt

A list of common abbreviations for Classical authors and their texts:
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/abbrevhelp


The American Journal of Archaeology's guide to abbreviations:
http://www.ajaonline.org/submissions/abbreviations

 

 

Language Dictionaries

Oxford Pocket Latin-English Dictionary

Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek

Older language, and other kinds of, dictionaries available through Perseus Digital Library

Classical Studies

Best Bets

The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 5th ed. Excellent source. Covers biography, literature, mythology, philosophy, religion, science, geography of the classical world with bibliography.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics Annotated bibliography on the Ancient world.

Mythology Encyclopedias

Mythology

Brill's New Pauly Supplement vol 4. The Reception of Myth and Mythology

Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology. 1998. (Olin Reference BL 715 D56x 1998) 

Early Greek Myth: A guide to Literary and Artistic Sources. 1993.  (Olin Reference BL782.G21)

Encyclopedia of Ancient Dieties. 2000. (Olin Reference BL473 .C68 2000 +) 

The Encyclopedia of Religion.  1987. (Olin Reference BL 31 E55+)

The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. 1986. (Olin Reference BL 715 .G86 1986)

Gods and heroes : a quick guide to the occupations, associations and experiences of the Greek and Roman gods and heroes. 1977. (Olin Reference BL715 .H29) 

Funk and Wagnall's Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend. 1972. (Olin Reference GR 35 F98 1984) 

Encyclopedia of Creation Myths. 1994 

Ancient Greece Encyclopedias

Ancient Greece
 

The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 5th ed. Excellent source. Covers biography, literature, mythology, philosophy, religion, science, geography of the classical world with bibliography.

A companion to classical receptions edited by Lorna Hardwick and Christopher Stray. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell, 2008. (Olin Oversize PA3009 .C66 2008+)

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations. New York: Mayflower Books, 1980. (Olin Reference CB 311 E565+) 

Grant, Michael, and Rachel Kitzinger. Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome. 3 vols. New York: Scribners, 1988. (Olin Reference DE 59 C58 1988) 

Ancient Writers Greece and Rome. 1982 (Olin Reference PA 3002.A54)

Sienkewicz, Thomas J. Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. 3 vols. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2002. (Olin Reference CB311 .E54x 2002) 

Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Articles, and over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. 1998. (Olin Reference DE5.O92x 1998+). A shortened version of The Oxford Classical Dictionary.

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations. 1980. (Olin Reference CB 311 E565+) 

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome. 1988. (Olin Reference DE 59 C58 1988) 

Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition. 2000. (Olin Reference DF757.E53x 2000)

Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. 2002. (Olin Reference CB311 .E54x 2002) 

General

Flicker photo by teachernz

Superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines:

Gale virtual reference library 

Sage Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Modern film and literature

Literature Resource Center
Biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).