Skip to main content

Cascadilla School Library Day (Fall 2018): Images

Introduction to doing research at Cornell for students of the Cascadilla School
guides.library.cornell.edu/cascadilla

ARTstor

The ARTstor Digital Library

Help in using ARTstor

 

 

Searching Licensed Image Resources at Cornell

Google Images is a quick and easy way to find lots of images from web pages across the globe. But it only searches free content, and it does not search many databases. When you look at the search results, do you know which image will meet your needs? Will any of the images be high enough in resolution? Are they described accurately? Fortunately, Cornell has built or subscribes to a number of image databases that give Cornell community members access to millions of images, most with high resolution and rich descriptions. The largest database is ARTstor (click on the image at left to launch).

For help with digital images, see: www.library.cornell.edu/visual-resources

Databases & Collections

The library subscribes to or has built a number of image databases that are excellent sources of images you can download and add to your papers and other projects. Keep in mind that some of them have licensing restrictions that prohibit the re-publication (including open web publishing, such as on a blog or on social networking sites) of images you download. There are also quite a few digital collections that are free and open on the web. Use the links and information on this page to get more information about how best to use ARTstor and other image databases.

Get help with digital images

Other image collections

Other notable image collections:

American Memory (Library of Congress)

AP Images (Associated Press; Cornell access only)

New York Public Library

Oxford Art Online (Cornell access only)

Web Accessibility Assistance