Skip to main content

Cascadilla School Library Day (Fall 2017): Subject encyclopedias

Introduction to doing research at Cornell for students of the Cascadilla School
guides.library.cornell.edu/cascadilla

Olin Reference Collection

Olin Library Reference Collection

Subject encyclopedias are a GREAT place to start your research!

Full-text Reference Sources

Use these reference databases to find and access articles in a variety of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Gale Virtual Reference Library [Restricted to Cornell campus use]
Provides the full text of many encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.

Reference Universe [Restricted to Cornell campus use] Searches the back-of the-book indexes of thousands of reference titles to help researchers select useful reference encyclopedias. Search tip: Click the checkbox to “Restrict Search to Titles in your Library.” When you see a title of interest, click on the open book icon to connect to the Cornell Library catalog & find the call number and location of the item.

Subject Encyclopedias

Here's a sampling of subject encyclopedias on American history and literature:

Finding Subject Encyclopedias

There are many, many subject encyclopedias housed on the first floor of OLIN Library. First, try using the Gale Virtual Reference Library. If you don't find one that's right for your topic, try Reference Universe (see description, in the lefthand column). You can also consult the Cornell Library Guide to Encyclopedias Online.