ENGRG: Engineering General
Guide Search Terms
Patent Searching: Home
This guide to patent searching lists relevant databases to finding US, World, and European patents.
Cornell's Patent Office
Selected Cornell Inventors
The Best Patent Web Sites
Fastest place to go for all U.S. patents, U.S. patent applications, and European patents.
Derwent Innovations Index
Available through Thomson Reuter's Web of Science, Derwent includes value-added patent title descriptions to world and US patents from 1963 to date.
Contains US patents from 1976+, European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from U.S., World, and Australia.
Cornell Patent Office
Cornell Center for Technology Enterprise and Commercialization
Called CCTEC, this is Cornell's main office on campus for patent management.
Contact the Innovation and Outreach Coordinator at the Cornell NYCTech campus in New York City at InnovationOutreachCoordinatorNY@uspto.gov.
Ask us at
Free Patent Databases
Covers the entire collection of granted patents and published patent applications from the USPTO and the EPO. US patent documents date back to 1790, EPO to 1978.
Canadian Patents Database
Canadian Intellectual Patent Office (CIPO) contains all Canadian patents and images from 1933 to the present.
European Patent Office - esp@cenet
Esp@cenet contains European patents, World patents, and patent applications. Ability to search patents by origin country (i.e. CN for China). Downloadable and printable in PDF.
Requires registration to access PDFs of patents. Allows for RSS feeds and PDF and XML data downloads.
Japan Patent Office (JPO)
Access to japanese patent abstracts.
Contains US patents from 1976+, European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from U.S., World, and Australia. Searches full-text, downloadable into RIS format.
U.S. patents from 1976 foward. Contains U.S. and foreign citing patents.
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Access to all U.S. patents and U.S. patent applications. Best place to search by patent class. Search interface is still clumsy, recommend other databases on this page first.
United States Patent Statitistics
Patent statistical reports based on organization, geographical location, technology, and inventor.
Database of patents open for public comment, PDF downloading of patents, and free patent translation into multiple languages.
World Intellectual Patent Office
Under PatentScope, contains 1 million world patents and patent applications; will have a WO prefix. When viewing patent, click on "Document" to download in PDF, ZIP, or XML.
103A Carpenter Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853
Cornell's Patent Office >>
Nov 20, 2014 7:47 PM
Login to LibApps
Science & Technology