Skip to main content

Economics Research Guide

Get started with research in economics at the Cornell University Library

Top Databases for Articles in Economics

EconLit with Full Text:  Articles, working papers, and conference proceedings from all fields of economics. Produced by the American Economic Association.  Titles covered in EconLit

Business Source CompleteArticles in business, finance, and economics.  

ABI/INFORM Global: Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.

PAIS International: Citations to public policy literature of economics, government, and other subjects.

Web of ScienceIncludes the Social Sciences Citation Index.

JSTOR: Archive of journal articles and e-books from across disciplines, including economics.

Economics Subject Databases: Other databases at Cornell with economics coverage.

Passkey

What: Passkey is a bookmark that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus.

Do you access journals and databases from off-campus?

Try this bookmark to avoid having to go through the catalog, or to access resources after finding something through Google.

How: 

  • Drag the Passkey icon above to your bookmarks or favorites toolbar.
  • The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid.

  • Get the PassKey Tool

Time Required: Less than one minute to set-up!

Current Awareness

JournalTOCs: Use this service to keep up-to-date with new publications by browsing, viewing, saving, and searching across thousands of journal tables of contents (TOCs) from hundreds of publishers. Free registration allows you to create a customized list of your most important and favorite journals, and includes export options such as email alerts, RSS feeds, formats for bibliographic managers, and customizable API for web pages. Note: there is a limit of 30 journal titles that can be followed.

E-mail (or RSS) alerts from databases subscribed to by the Cornell University Library

  • EBSCO databases (including EconLit): Click on "Publications" link from the toolbar. Browse for journal title and select. Click ""Alert/Save/Share" link on publications page.
  • ProQuest databases - click "Publications" tab. Browse for journal title and select. Click "set up alert" or "create RSS feed" from publication page.
  • Web of Science - conduct a "publication name" search. Click on "Search History". Click "Save History/Create Alert" button and choose frequency of alert (options are weekly or monthly).
  • Publisher-provided TOC alerts - Another option is to sign up for TOC alerts sent directly from publishers of journals or article databases to which Cornell University subscribes. This usually requires creating an individual profile at a publisher's Web site.