Skip to main content

German Studies 1109: From Fairy Tales to the Uncanny (Fall 2018): Reference
Sources

Research strategy and library resources for Matthew Stoltz's class. Click on the TABS to access each section of this guide.

FINDING BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Baldick, Chris. The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms. 4th edition. Oxford University Press, 2015.
(Online; print: Olin Reference PN 41 .C67 2015)

Clear, concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, from abjection to zeugma, and increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements, such as feminism, schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction.

 

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales. 3 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2008.
(Olin Reference GR 74 .G73 2008 +)

The most complete encyclopedia of the folktale/fairytale tradition to date. The 670 signed articles are global in scope and cover recent scholarship. Each entry includes a list of readings.

 

Harmon, William. A Handbook to Literature. 11th edition. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2009.
(Olin Reference PN 41 .H355 2009)

A reliable and clearly-worded dictionary of literary terms and concepts. Entries range in length from a few sentences to several pages. Many provide references for further reading.

 

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Edited by Tom Pendergast and Sara Pendergast. 4th edition. 4 volumes. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000.
(Online; also in print: Olin Reference PN 1993.45 .I61 2000)

Volume 1 of this four-volume set lists and describes approximately 650 international and historical films. Descriptions include production information, a cast list, a plot summary, an essay of the film's place in film history, and a lengthy bibliography. Volumes 2 through 4 focus on Directors/Filmmakers, Actors and Actresses, and Writers and Production Assistants.

 

Oxford Reference. New York: Oxford UP. (Online)

Over 2 million entries in 365 encyclopedias and reference works published by Oxford University Press. A massive collection of authoritative information.

 

Zipes, Jack, ed. The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales. 2nd edition. New York: Oxford UP, 2015.
(Online; also in print: Olin Reference PN 3437 .094 2015)

Over 800 entries discuss the classic tales, both ancient and modern, from Jack and Jill and Cinderella to Alice in Wonderland and the Wizard of Oz. The contributors also profile the writers who wrote or reworked these tales, as well as the illustrators, film-makers, choreographers, and composers who have been involved with creating or interpreting them. The Companion also covers such related topics as film, art, opera, ballet, music, even advertising. An introductory overview by Jack Zipes sets the subject in its historical and literary context, and special survey articles explore the development of the fairy-tale tradition in individual countries, focusing particularly on the European and North American traditions.

 

Browse the Arts and Humanities Encyclopedias collections in our Subject Encyclopedias guide. Or ask us for suggestions.

Web Accessibility Assistance