Skip to main content

Jewish Studies in the Cornell University Library: Judaica Antiqua et Rara

Information for the Cornell community on Jewish Studies resources in the library

Jewish Studies Resources in RMC

Judaica in the Rare and Manuscript Collections

The collection of Judaica and materials relating to Jewish history and civilization in the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections (RMC) is diverse both in format and theme.

A small but interesting collection of bound manuscripts, chiefly from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, is a legacy from Professor Isaac Rabinowitz. Most of these manuscripts are religious in content and derive chiefly from the Provençal (Carpentras), Sephardic and Mizrahi rites of Judaism. They can be searched in the Library’s on-line catalogue.

Professor Isaac Rabinowitz’s papers are also in RMC; a guide serving as a find aid for the collection is currently (April 2013) under preparation.

The Lesly Lempert Collection, which arrived starting in 2007, contains documentation from Israeli and Palestinian human rights groups during the First Intifada (1987). Holdings include periodicals and miscellaneous correspondence form organizations and individuals.

A collection of personal documents—correspondence, photographs and recordings—in the Miriam Seidman Blaukopf née Blasenstein Collection records the experiences of Miriam Seidman Blaukopf, who survived four years in hiding from the Nazis in German-occupied Poland and ultimately the war itself.

In October 2012 Fred and Ilse Voss visited the Cornell Library; Fred, a now-retired noted speaker on the Holocaust and on the need for tolerance among diverse communities, donated a small but significant collection of photographs that include images of the concentration camps Ohrdruf and Buchenwald immediately after liberation in April 1945; and pre-war, Nazi propaganda images, such as photographs of Hitler and other Nazi officials. Both Fred and Ilse were able to flee the Continent for Britain before the war but lost many relatives from immediate and extended family during the Shoah.